The Ford E-Transit Custom is the battery-electric (BEV) version of Ford's one-tonne midsize van, built at the Ford Otosan plant in Yeniköy, Türkiye, and sold in Europe since 2024. For the 2026 model year, announced on 1 December 2025, Ford has changed two things that matter to fleet buyers. Vans built from early 2026 carry a 71 kWh usable battery in place of the previous 64 kWh unit, which lifts the WLTP range of the rear-wheel-drive (RWD) van to up to 373 km, against up to 337 km for the 2025 version, and cuts the 10-80% DC charge on a 125 kW charger to about 29 minutes. The second change is an optional all-wheel-drive (AWD) system with a second electric drive unit on the front axle, offered from early 2026 at 100, 160 or 210 kW. The same powertrain goes into the passenger-carrying E-Tourneo Custom. This article covers the midsize Custom only; Ford's larger full-size E-Transit is a different van. In the United Kingdom, Ford lists the E-Transit Custom from £43,630 (~$58,000) excluding VAT (Trend, 100 kW, L1 panel van).
Performance & Specs
The E-Transit Custom is offered with three electric power levels: 100 kW (136 PS, about 134 hp), 160 kW (218 PS, about 215 hp) and 210 kW (285 PS, about 282 hp). PS is the metric horsepower, about 1.4 percent smaller than the imperial hp used here. In the rear-wheel-drive van Ford lists 415 Nm of torque. The German fleet magazine Autoflotte, which tested a 160 kW Sport van from the 2025 model year, notes that the continuous output is only 85 kW and that the full 160 kW (218 PS) is available as peak power when the accelerator is pressed fully down. Ford's EU technical sheet does not publish a 0-100 km/h time or a top speed for the electric van, so neither is quoted here.
The optional AWD system adds an independent high-power drive unit for the front wheels to the existing rear unit, with no mechanical link between the axles. Ford says each unit can deliver the van's full power output on its own, and that the system checks wheel slip up to 50 times per second and adjusts torque between the axles. Total motor torque is 435 Nm with 100 kW, 617 Nm with 160 kW and 630 Nm with 210 kW, and Ford says the 630 Nm figure is more than 50 percent above the rear-wheel-drive version. Regenerative braking force at low speed is also up to 50 percent higher. The AWD van adds Slippery and Trail drive modes to the Normal, Eco and Sport modes of the rear-drive version; Trail allows controlled wheel slip on gravel or sand-covered asphalt. The 210 kW AWD powertrain is reserved for the Sport and MS-RT series.
Range is quoted on the WLTP cycle and depends on the configuration. Ford gives up to 373 km for the 2026 rear-wheel-drive E-Transit Custom and up to 348 km (Ford EU tech sheet; Ford's launch articles say 342 km) for the AWD van. Ford UK's June 2026 price list gives the all-electric range of the L1 van as 230 miles (about 370 km) for the 100 kW RWD, 218 miles (about 351 km) for the 160 kW RWD, 173 miles (about 278 km) for the 210 kW RWD and 212, 201 and 170 miles (about 341, 323 and 274 km) for the 100, 160 and 210 kW AWD, so the 373 km headline belongs to the 100 kW rear-drive van. For the E-Tourneo Custom the figures are up to 341 km (RWD) and up to 315 km (AWD). As a sanity check, 71 kWh divided by 373 km implies about 19 kWh/100 km at the battery, a plausible figure for a van of this size. Ford also lists a 2,300 kg maximum towing weight and says payload reaches up to one tonne depending on the specification.
| Powertrain | Single-motor RWD BEV |
|---|---|
| Power | 100 kW (136 PS / 134 hp) |
| Torque | 415 Nm |
| 0–100 km/h | Not published by Ford |
| Battery | 71 kWh usable |
| Range | Up to 373 km WLTP (Ford's best RWD case) |
| POWERTRAIN TYPE | Battery electric (BEV), single-motor RWD or dual-motor AWD |
|---|---|
| POWER | 100 kW (136 PS / 134 hp), 160 kW (218 PS / 215 hp) or 210 kW (285 PS / 282 hp) |
| TORQUE | 415 Nm (RWD); 435 / 617 / 630 Nm (AWD, motors combined) |
| ACCELERATION | Not published by Ford |
| DRIVETRAIN | RWD, or AWD with one motor per axle |
| BATTERY | 71 kWh usable (gross capacity not stated by Ford for 2026) |
| WLTP RANGE (VAN) | Up to 373 km (RWD), up to 348 km (Ford EU tech sheet; Ford's launch articles say 342 km) (AWD) |
| WLTP RANGE (E-TOURNEO CUSTOM) | Up to 341 km (RWD), up to 315 km (AWD) |
Dimensions & Practicality
| Length | 5,050 mm (L1) / 5,450 mm (L2) |
|---|---|
| Width | 2,032 mm (2,275 mm with mirrors) |
| Height | 1,959-2,040 mm |
| Wheelbase | 3,100 mm (L1) / 3,500 mm (L2) |
| Ground clearance | 140 mm |
The E-Transit Custom comes in two lengths and one roof height (H1). The panel van offers 5.8 cubic metres of load volume in the L1 body and 6.8 cubic metres in the L2. Load length is 2,602 mm behind the bulkhead in the L1 and 3,002 mm in the L2, and up to 3,050 mm and 3,450 mm with the load-through bulkhead. The load space is 1,777 mm wide at its maximum and 1,392 mm between the wheel arches, with a maximum load height of 1,433 mm. The MultiCab, which has a second seat row, holds 3.8 cubic metres (L1) or 4.7 cubic metres (L2), and the double-cab-in-van holds 3.3 or 4.3 cubic metres.
Ford's sample-vehicle table shows how much of the one-tonne claim survives in practice. A Limited L1H1 van with the 100 kW motor has a kerb weight of 2,187 kg and a gross payload of 1,038 kg, a Sport L1H1 with 160 kW weighs 2,201 kg with 1,024 kg payload, and the AWD Trail L1H1 with 160 kW weighs 2,368 kg with 857 kg payload. All three share a 3,225 kg gross vehicle mass and a 2,300 kg towing limit. The extra front motor therefore costs roughly 170 kg of payload. Ford notes that maximum payload varies with accessories and configuration, so the door-jamb label of a specific van is the reference.
| LENGTH | 5,050 mm (L1) / 5,450 mm (L2) |
|---|---|
| WIDTH | 2,032 mm (2,275 mm with mirrors) |
| HEIGHT | 1,959-2,040 mm |
| WHEELBASE | 3,100 mm (L1) / 3,500 mm (L2) |
| LOAD VOLUME (VAN) | 5.8 m³ (L1) / 6.8 m³ (L2) |
| LOAD LENGTH (VAN) | 2,602-3,050 mm (L1) / 3,002-3,450 mm (L2) |
| GROSS PAYLOAD (SAMPLE VANS) | 1,038 kg (100 kW), 1,024 kg (160 kW), 857 kg (AWD Trail) |
| GROSS VEHICLE MASS / TOWING | 3,225 kg / up to 2,300 kg |
| TURNING CIRCLE | 10.9 m (L1) / 12.1 m (L2) |
Charging & Battery
The 2026 battery has a usable capacity of 71 kWh, made of 276 NMC lithium-ion cells in an underfloor pack. Ford publishes only the usable figure, and the German outlet electrive reports that the hardware is unchanged and that more of its energy content has been made usable, which explains how the range rose without a new pack. DC charging peaks at 125 kW, and Ford quotes 10-80% in about 29 minutes, ten minutes less than before, adding about 111 km of range in ten minutes. On AC, Ford's sheet gives about 4 hours 40 minutes for 10-80% at 11 kW and about 6 hours 42 minutes at 7.4 kW.
Owners of earlier vans are not left behind. Ford says an over-the-air software update lets existing 64 kWh vans charge from 10 to 80% in about 25 minutes on a 125 kW charger, a saving of about 14 minutes. Charge times vary with the charger, the weather, driving behaviour and the age of the battery. The Ford UK model page still prints the older 39-minute figure (Ford UK's price list says 29 minutes), so buyers should check which battery a specific van carries.
| BATTERY | 71 kWh usable, 276 NMC cells (vans built from early 2026); 64 kWh usable earlier |
|---|---|
| AC CHARGING | 11 kW three-phase: 10-80% in about 4 h 40 min; 7.4 kW: about 6 h 42 min |
| DC FAST CHARGING | Up to 125 kW |
| DC 10-80% TIME | About 29 min (71 kWh); about 25 min for older 64 kWh vans after the OTA update |
Design & Interior
The current Transit Custom generation has a van-style front with a wide grille, slim LED headlamps and a light bar across the nose on the white test vans in Ford's press images, while the electric versions carry the charging flap beside the grille. In Ford's press photos the Trail series appears to carry side graphics and black wheels, and the Sport series is the one Autoflotte describes with matt-black alloy wheels, sill extensions, a rear apron and a roof spoiler. The body is a steel unibody and comes as a panel van, a Kombi, a double-cab-in-van and a MultiCab with a second seat row. Wheels range from 16-inch steel on the Trend and 16-inch alloy on the Limited to 17-inch alloys on the Sport, with 19-inch alloys also listed.
Series names matter because they decide which powertrain is available. The E-Transit Custom is sold as Trend, Limited, Trail, Sport and MS-RT, and the 210 kW AWD powertrain is limited to Sport and MS-RT. The E-Tourneo Custom passenger version is offered with AWD in Active, Sport, Titanium X and MS-RT, with 160 kW or 210 kW drive units, and 210 kW is an option on the Sport, Titanium X and MS-RT.
Technology & Features
Ford fits a 13-inch SYNC 4 touchscreen and 5G connectivity, and the van can be updated over the air, which is how the faster charging reaches existing vans. A vapour-injected heat pump is listed to protect range in cold weather. The optional Pro Power Onboard system supplies 2.3 kW for tools and equipment, which suits trades that run a power tool or a laptop from the van. Ford Pro, the company's commercial arm, sells charging, software and service packages for fleets alongside the vehicle.
Safety & ADAS
Standard driver assistance on the E-Transit Custom includes Pre-Collision Assist, Lane Keeping System, Intelligent Speed Assist, Adjustable Speed Limiter, Driver Alert, Intersection Assist, Traffic Sign Recognition, Wrong Way Alert and a rear parking aid. Available options include blind spot information with lane change aid, cross-traffic alert, a digital rear-view camera, front parking aid, exit warning, reverse brake assist and intelligent adaptive cruise control with Stop & Go. The sheet lists front airbags for driver and passenger, roof-mounted, plus ABS, electronic stability control with roll stability control, traction control and tyre pressure monitoring. Ford states that driver-assist features do not replace the driver's attention and judgment.
| ADAS LEVEL | Not stated by Ford; standard Pre-Collision Assist and Lane Keeping System |
|---|---|
| ADAS FEATURES | Pre-Collision Assist, Lane Keeping, Intelligent Speed Assist, Traffic Sign Recognition, rear parking aid; optional blind spot, adaptive cruise with Stop & Go, digital rear-view camera |
Available Versions
| VERSION | POWER | TORQUE | 0-100 | TOP SPEED | DRIVETRAIN | BATTERY | EV RANGE | COMBINED RANGE | PRICE | KEY DIFFERENCES |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| E-Transit Custom 100 kW RWD | 134 hp | 415 Nm | — | — | RWD | 71 kWh | 373 km | — | GBP 43,630 (~$58,000) excl. VAT | 136 PS entry power; Trend series; Ford's RWD range maximum is up to 373 km WLTP |
| E-Transit Custom 160 kW RWD | 215 hp | 415 Nm | — | — | RWD | 71 kWh | 351 km | — | GBP 46,820 (~$62,200) excl. VAT | 218 PS; Limited and Sport series; about 351 km WLTP (Ford UK price list) |
| E-Transit Custom 210 kW RWD | 282 hp | 415 Nm | — | — | RWD | 71 kWh | 278 km | — | GBP 60,490 (~$80,400) excl. VAT | 285 PS; MS-RT |
| E-Transit Custom 100 kW AWD | 134 hp | 435 Nm | — | — | AWD | 71 kWh | 348 km | — | GBP 48,630 (~$64,600) excl. VAT | Two motors; Ford's AWD range maximum is up to 348 km WLTP (Ford EU tech sheet; Ford's launch articles say 342 km) |
| E-Transit Custom 160 kW AWD | 215 hp | 617 Nm | — | — | AWD | 71 kWh | 323 km | — | GBP 51,820 (~$68,900) excl. VAT | Trail sample van 857 kg payload, 2,368 kg kerb weight |
| E-Transit Custom 210 kW AWD | 282 hp | 630 Nm | — | — | AWD | 71 kWh | 274 km | — | GBP 65,490 (~$87,000) excl. VAT | Sport and MS-RT only |
Pricing & Availability
In the United Kingdom, Ford's June 2026 price list puts the E-Transit Custom L1 panel van with the 71 kWh battery from £43,630 (~$58,000) excluding VAT (£52,356 including VAT) for the Trend 100 kW RWD. Other L1 prices excluding VAT are Limited 160 kW RWD £46,820 (~$62,200), Sport 160 kW RWD £48,720 (~$64,700) and MS-RT 210 kW RWD £60,490 (~$80,400). AWD adds £5,000: Trend 100 kW £48,630 (~$64,600), Limited 160 kW £51,820 (~$68,900), Trail 160 kW £53,020 (~$70,500), Sport 160 kW £53,720 (~$71,400) and MS-RT 210 kW £65,490 (~$87,000). Ford's model page also advertises a £5,000 Plug-in Van Grant. In Germany, Autoflotte's issue 1/2 2026 prints all prices net of VAT, so its figures are €50,750 net (~$56,500) (Trend, 160 kW) and €55,000 net (~$61,200) (Sport BEV) in Ford's online configurator. The test van was the 2025 64 kWh model, so these prices may predate the 71 kWh update.
The van is built in Türkiye and sold across Europe, where Ford describes the Transit Custom family as the region's bestselling van, citing 2024 S&P Global Mobility data. The E-Tourneo Custom shares the powertrain, and on the independent EV Database the 71 kWh German passenger versions list from about €61,700 including VAT; Ford has not published a German price list we could read. In Israel, Ford's importer is Delek Motors and the electric Transit sold there is the larger E-Transit, so we found no listing for the electric E-Transit Custom as of October 2026.
How It Compares
The comparison here is between Ford's own Custom variants, because Ford's EU technical sheet puts them side by side on one basis. The AWD van trades about 25 km of up-to WLTP range (31 km against the 342 km launch figure) and roughly 170 kg of payload for up to 630 Nm of torque and better traction, which makes it a niche choice for construction sites, rural routes and winter roads rather than the default fleet pick. The plug-in hybrid Transit Custom, a different powertrain with a 11.8 kWh usable battery and 233 PS, covers up to 55 km on electricity and keeps a fuel tank, so it suits operators without reliable depot charging. Among rival electric vans, 2024 trade-press figures from the UK launch of the Renault Trafic E-Tech (Fleet World, July 2024) put it at a 52 kWh battery with up to 186 miles WLTP, so the Ford's 71 kWh pack gives it a clear range lead on paper, although prices and specifications of rivals should be checked against current manufacturer lists.
- 71 kWh usable battery with up to 373 km WLTP (RWD), more than 10 percent above the 2025 van
- 125 kW DC charging with 10-80% in about 29 minutes, and an OTA update that speeds up older vans too
- Optional electric AWD up to 210 kW and 630 Nm, with a 2,300 kg towing limit and up to about one tonne of payload
- AWD adds roughly 170 kg of kerb weight, leaving 857 kg of payload in the Trail sample van, and its WLTP range is only up to 348 km (Ford EU tech sheet; Ford's launch articles say 342 km)
- Ford publishes no 0-100 km/h or top speed and no gross battery capacity for 2026
The 2026 E-Transit Custom is a mature midsize electric van that has fixed its two weak points, range and charging time, without a new platform. The rear-drive 100 kW van with up to 373 km WLTP and a 29-minute 10-80% charge is the sensible core of the range, and the UK entry price of £43,630 excluding VAT keeps it competitive. The AWD option is for operators who actually need traction and towing. Buyers should check the battery in a specific van, the series-dependent power options and the VAT basis of any price before ordering.

