GWM launched the Haval Dargo HEV in China on September 28, 2026, adding a hybrid that never needs a charger to the boxy Big Dog family, which is sold under the Dargo name in export markets. It pairs a 1.5-litre turbo engine with a small high-power battery in two layouts: Hi2 front-wheel drive and Hi4 all-wheel drive. Both deliver a system output of 182 kW (247 PS / 244 hp), with 535 Nm in the Hi2 and 670 Nm in the Hi4. Official guide prices run from 119,900 to 137,900 yuan ($17,504 to $20,131 at 6.85 CNY per USD), and a limited-time promotional price takes 14,000 yuan off every trim, so the range starts at 105,900 yuan ($15,460). GWM leans on efficiency: a WLTC combined range of up to 1,115 km, and a launch-day one-tank livestream that ran for about 1,000 km. This is a plug-free hybrid (HEV), not a plug-in, so there is no charge port and no external power outlet.
Performance & Specs
Both versions share the same 1.5-litre turbocharged hybrid-specific engine, rated at 115 kW (156 PS / 154 hp) with a claimed thermal efficiency of 41.5 percent. Combined with the electric motors, the system peaks at 182 kW, which is about 247 PS or 244 hp by our conversion (182 kW x 1.341). The Hi2 is a front-drive layout with a two-speed DHT transmission and 535 Nm, and Chinese coverage quotes 0–100 km/h in 7.7 seconds. The Hi4 adds a rear-axle motor, reported at 150 kW, and a four-speed DHT for 670 Nm and a 6.6-second 0–100 km/h time. GWM says the Hi4 splits torque between axles anywhere from 0:100 to 100:0 through its iTVC torque-vectoring control, and the car has a 50:50 front-to-rear weight distribution. Hi4 buyers get seven driving modes: economy, standard, sport, 4WD, mud, sand and snow. Top speed has not been published.
| Powertrain | Non-plug-in hybrid (HEV), 1.5T + DHT + motors |
|---|---|
| Power | 182 kW (247 PS / 244 hp) |
| Torque | 535 Nm (Hi2) / 670 Nm (Hi4) |
| 0–100 km/h | 7.7 s (Hi2) / 6.6 s (Hi4) |
| Battery | 1.53 kWh (NCM, non-plug-in) |
| Range | 1,115 km (Hi2) / 946 km (Hi4), WLTC |
| POWERTRAIN TYPE | Non-plug-in hybrid (HEV): 1.5T petrol engine + DHT + electric motor(s) |
|---|---|
| HORSEPOWER | 182 kW (247 PS / 244 hp) system output; engine 115 kW (156 PS / 154 hp) |
| ACCELERATION | 0–100 km/h in 7.7 s (Hi2) / 6.6 s (Hi4) |
| TOP SPEED | Not disclosed |
| DRIVETRAIN | Hi2: FWD; Hi4: AWD (front + rear motors) |
| BATTERY | 1.53 kWh, high-rate (not rechargeable from the grid) |
| ELECTRIC RANGE | Not applicable (HEV, no plug) |
| COMBINED RANGE | 1,115 km (Hi2) / 946 km (Hi4), WLTC; up to 1,381 km / 1,139 km on the CATARC-certified figures |
Dimensions & Practicality
| Length | 4,620 mm |
|---|---|
| Width | 1,890 mm |
| Height | 1,780 mm |
| Wheelbase | 2,738 mm |
| Ground clearance | 200 mm (unladen) |
The hybrid keeps the body of the current Big Dog, so the dimensions are unchanged at 4,620 mm long, 1,890 mm wide and 1,780 mm tall on a 2,738 mm wheelbase. That makes it a compact but tall square-cut SUV, about 85 mm shorter than the plug-in Dargo Plus and on a wheelbase 72 mm shorter. Chinese spec coverage lists 200 mm of unladen ground clearance, a 24-degree approach angle, a 30-degree departure angle and a 500 mm wading depth. A roof rack and sunroof are part of the standard equipment list, and buyers can choose a semi-enclosed grille panel in place of the open grille. GWM has not published a boot volume, so we are not printing a figure. The official cargo photo shows the rear seats folded flat with two hard-shell suitcases and a duffel bag sitting comfortably on the load floor.
| LENGTH | 4,620 mm |
|---|---|
| WIDTH | 1,890 mm |
| HEIGHT | 1,780 mm |
| WHEELBASE | 2,738 mm |
| GROUND CLEARANCE | 200 mm (unladen) |
| CARGO VOLUME | Not disclosed |
| FRUNK | None |
Charging & Battery
There is nothing to plug in. The Dargo HEV is a conventional self-charging hybrid, and Chinese coverage confirms the pack is tiny at about 1.53 kWh, from Honeycomb Energy (SVOLT) as a nickel-manganese-cobalt cell rated for 75C discharge. That high discharge rate is what lets a battery this small feed the motors hard during acceleration, which is how the Hi4 reaches 100 km/h in 6.6 seconds. Because the battery is charged only by the engine and regenerative braking, the car has no AC or DC charging, no charge port and no electric-only range figure. It also has no vehicle-to-load function: the external power outlet on the plug-in Big Dog range is not offered here. Refuelling takes the place of charging, which is exactly the point for buyers without home charging.
| BATTERY | 1.53 kWh NCM, 75C high-rate (Honeycomb Energy) |
|---|---|
| AC CHARGING | Not applicable (no plug) |
| DC FAST CHARGING | Not applicable (no plug) |
| DC 10-80% TIME | Not applicable |
Design & Interior
Outside, the Dargo HEV keeps the flat-sided, upright Big Dog look, with round LED headlights, a wide grille panel with a HAVAL badge and a small three-colour light strip, and a silver skid-plate treatment at the front. Window trim comes in chrome or gloss black depending on the trim, and a roof rack is fitted as standard. The semi-enclosed grille is the only visual change GWM highlights compared with the existing cars. Inside, the dashboard continues the current design: a two-spoke steering wheel, a 10.25-inch digital cluster and a large floating 15.6-inch 2.5K central screen, with physical buttons retained for key functions and a chunky grab handle in front of the passenger. A 9-inch W-HUD head-up display and a 10-speaker audio system are listed in the equipment. The official photos show a two-tone grey-and-beige cabin, and the cargo picture shows a flat load floor with the rear seats folded.
Technology & Features
The infotainment runs Coffee OS 3 on a 15.6-inch 2.5K display, which GWM pairs with 24 GB of memory. It supports CarPlay, HiCar and Carlink, uses GPS and BeiDou positioning, and responds to multi-language voice control. The driver-assistance package is Coffee Pilot 3 Lite, GWM’s third-generation system, which uses 26 sensors including a 4D millimetre-wave radar to support highway and city navigate-on-autopilot without requiring a high-precision map, plus remote parking and more than 200 parking scenarios. The intelligent hybrid controller switches between six operating modes on the Hi2 and nine on the Hi4. Hi4 versions add the iTVC torque-vectoring logic and seven terrain modes, and the top Navigator trim adds the rear differential lock for low-traction driving.
Safety & ADAS
Safety equipment centres on Coffee Pilot 3 Lite and its 26-sensor suite. The system supports highway and urban NOA, remote parking and driver-state monitoring with fatigue warnings, and GWM describes the body as high-strength steel with double-sided galvanised coating. Chinese coverage does not list crash-test ratings for the hybrid. Hi4 versions also bring the electronically controlled rear differential lock on the top trim, which helps traction on loose surfaces rather than crash safety.
| ADAS LEVEL | L2+ (Coffee Pilot 3 Lite, highway and city NOA) |
|---|---|
| ADAS FEATURES | Highway and city NOA, remote parking, 200+ parking scenarios, 26 sensors including 4D millimetre-wave radar, driver-state monitoring, W-HUD |
Available Versions
| VERSION | POWER | TORQUE | 0-100 | TOP SPEED | DRIVETRAIN | BATTERY | EV RANGE | COMBINED RANGE | PRICE | KEY DIFFERENCES |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hi2 Electric Hybrid Pro | 244 hp | 535 Nm | 7.7s | — | FWD | 1.53 kWh | — | 1,115 km | $17,504 | 2-speed DHT; WLTC 5.2 L/100 km; promo price $15,460 (105,900 yuan) |
| Hi4 Electric Hybrid MAX | 244 hp | 670 Nm | 6.6s | — | AWD | 1.53 kWh | — | 946 km | $18,964 | 4-speed DHT, rear motor, iTVC; WLTC 5.65 L/100 km; promo price $16,920 (115,900 yuan) |
| Hi4 Electric Hybrid MAX Navigator | 244 hp | 670 Nm | 6.6s | — | AWD | 1.53 kWh | — | 946 km | $20,131 | Adds electronically controlled rear differential lock; promo price $18,088 (123,900 yuan) |
Pricing & Availability
The Dargo HEV went on sale in China on September 28, 2026 in three trims. The Hi2 Electric Hybrid Pro lists at 119,900 yuan ($17,504), the Hi4 MAX at 129,900 yuan ($18,964) and the Hi4 MAX Navigator at 137,900 yuan ($20,131). A limited-time price of 105,900, 115,900 and 123,900 yuan ($15,460, $16,920 and $18,088) is quoted for the period September 28 to October 31, 2026, a 14,000 yuan (about $2,044) cut on each trim. Chinese outlets note that this figure bundles a cash gift with a trade-in subsidy, so buyers need to qualify and it is not a plain discount on the sticker. All dollar figures here use 6.85 CNY per USD and are Chinese-market prices only. The hybrid is on sale in China for now: the petrol Dargo built on the same body is exported to Russia, Kazakhstan and Uzbekistan, but GWM has not announced the HEV for any market outside China. The launch itself was staged as an 18-hour livestreamed one-tank drive from Baoding toward the Alxa region, and coverage cites about 1,050 km at a displayed 5.6 L/100 km. GWM also cites CATARC Level-1 energy-efficiency certification at 4.6 L/100 km for the Hi2 and 4.94 L/100 km for the Hi4, equal to ranges of 1,381 km and 1,139 km, but those are best-case certified numbers, while the WLTC figures are 5.2 and 5.65 L/100 km.
How It Compares
Our catalog has no other non-plug-in hybrid SUV at this price, so these are value contrasts rather than cross-shop rivals. The BYD Sealion 05 DM-i is the closest on price at $17,708, offering 218 hp and 1,200 km of combined range as a plug-in, against the Dargo HEV’s 244 hp and up to 1,115 km with no plug at all. The Geely Boyue range-extender costs $17,000 for 215 hp and 1,525 km, the longest range of the group, but it depends on charging to make the most of its electric drive. The Haval H7 Hi4, a sibling plug-in from the same brand, has 359 hp and 1,000 km of combined range at $21,050, roughly the price of the top Dargo HEV Navigator trim. These plug-in cars use different test cycles and are not sold alongside the Dargo HEV outside China, so treat the figures as context. The pitch of the Dargo HEV is simple: 244 hp, optional all-wheel drive with a locking rear axle and city-capable driver assistance, for a plug-in-free ownership routine.
- 244 hp system output on every trim, with the Hi4 reaching 100 km/h in 6.6 seconds
- No charging needed, with a WLTC range of up to 1,115 km and a guide price from $17,504
- Coffee Pilot 3 Lite with city and highway NOA and a 15.6-inch screen, even on a car under $20,200 list price
- Only a 1.53 kWh battery, so no electric-only driving and no external power outlet
- The rear differential lock is limited to the top Navigator trim, and boot volume and top speed are not published
The Dargo HEV is aimed at Chinese buyers who want a boxy off-road-styled SUV but have nowhere to charge. It combines 244 hp, a 1,115 km WLTC range and Hi4 all-wheel drive with modern assistance features at a price that starts under $17,600. The compromise is the tiny battery, which rules out electric commuting and vehicle-to-load use, and the best headline consumption numbers are certified best cases rather than everyday figures. If you can charge at home, the plug-in Big Dog and its rivals give more electric driving for similar money, but for a no-fuss, long-range 4WD hybrid, this is a compelling value.

