The Xiaomi Sky Nomad N90 has moved from press-release renders to an actual showroom floor in China, and a dealer walkaround video gives the clearest hands-on look yet at Xiaomi's first range-extended EV. This is the flagship model of Sky Nomad, Xiaomi's brand-new sub-brand built to compete directly with Li Auto's family SUVs, and the N90 Max seen in the video is the only trim priced so far: a 5.28-meter, three-row EREV SUV with a 76 kWh battery, a 1.5-liter range-extender engine that never touches the wheels, and a presale price that undercuts most large-SUV rivals in its class. The car in the video is finished in gloss black with the standard cream-beige leather interior, sitting on the showroom floor next to a Zeekr 9X — the car the reviewer, and much of the Chinese market, treats as the N90's closest rival. Xiaomi is betting that its ecosystem integration and aggressive pricing can repeat the SU7 sedan playbook in the premium family-SUV segment.
Performance & Specs
The N90 Max pairs a 1.5-liter turbocharged range-extender engine (112 kW / 150 hp, sourced from Changan subsidiary Harbin Dongan) with a dual-motor all-wheel-drive setup rated at 310 kW (416 hp) combined — a 210 kW rear motor and a 100 kW front motor. The gasoline engine only ever spins a generator to top up the 76 kWh CALB ternary-lithium battery; it never drives the wheels directly. Xiaomi quotes 5.9 seconds for 0-100 km/h and a 190 km/h top speed, confirmed both by the official presale reveal and by the reviewer reading the same figures off the car's own window sticker on camera. Peak torque still has not been officially disclosed as of this writing — treat any specific torque number circulating online as unconfirmed, since two different secondary aggregator sites currently quote two different figures (540 Nm and 690 Nm) that don't agree with each other or with Xiaomi's own published data sheets. Curb weight is listed at 2,800 kg for the standard N90 Max and 2,840 kg for the camping-oriented variant with the taller roof. DC fast charging takes the pack from 20-80% in roughly 18 minutes, and Xiaomi claims a 15-minute splash charge adds about 285 km of range; peak DC charging power in kW has not been published.
| Powertrain | Dual-motor AWD EREV |
|---|---|
| Power | 310 kW (416 hp) |
| Torque | TBA (not officially disclosed) |
| 0–100 km/h | 5.9 s |
| Battery | 76 kWh (CALB ternary lithium) |
| Range | 464 km EV / 1,705 km combined (CLTC) |
| POWERTRAIN TYPE | EREV (range-extended EV) |
|---|---|
| HORSEPOWER | 310 kW (416 hp) |
| ACCELERATION | 5.9 s (0–100 km/h) |
| TOP SPEED | 190 km/h |
| DRIVETRAIN | Dual-motor AWD |
| BATTERY | 76 kWh (CALB ternary lithium) |
| ELECTRIC RANGE | 464 km (CLTC) |
| COMBINED RANGE | 1,705 km (CLTC) |
Dimensions & Practicality
| Length | 5,285 mm |
|---|---|
| Width | 1,998 mm |
| Height | 1,825 mm |
| Wheelbase | 3,080 mm |
| Ground clearance | ∼200 mm |
| Seats | 7 (2+2+3 layout, 5-seat option available) |
At 5,285 mm long on a 3,080 mm wheelbase, the N90 is a genuinely large three-row SUV that the reviewer repeatedly measures on camera at "5.28 meters," confirming Xiaomi's own published figure. Front and rear track width both come in around 1,990 mm, and the showroom car rides on 265/45R21 tires over 21-inch wheels, with a ground clearance the reviewer pegs at roughly 200 mm. The standard N90 sells in a 5-seat layout or a 2+2+3 seven-seat layout — worth flagging since this exact video's own title calls it a "6-seater," but that doesn't match Xiaomi's own configuration list (5-seat or 7-seat only) or any other outlet's coverage of the car; the captain's chairs visible in the second row on camera are standard on both the 5- and 7-seat versions, not evidence of a distinct 6-seat trim. Boot space is rated at 577 litres with all rows in place, expanding to 1,831 litres (the reviewer rounds this to "1,800 liters" on camera) with the second and third rows folded flat. The front seats can rotate up to 180 degrees when parked, and the second row gets a fold-out table for use in that configuration. Air suspension is fitted, which the reviewer specifically calls out as sharing "the same concept" as the pricier Zeekr 9X.
| LENGTH | 5,285 mm |
|---|---|
| WIDTH | 1,998 mm |
| HEIGHT | 1,825 mm |
| WHEELBASE | 3,080 mm |
| CARGO VOLUME | 577 L (1,831 L seats folded) |
| CURB WEIGHT | 2,800 kg |
Charging & Battery
The N90 Max's 76 kWh ternary-lithium battery pack is supplied by CALB, and the 1.5-liter range-extender engine's only job is to spin a generator that tops the pack up on longer trips — it never drives the wheels directly. Xiaomi has not published the peak DC charging rate, but the automaker quotes a 20-80% DC fast-charge time of about 18 minutes, and a 15-minute splash charge is claimed to add roughly 285 km of range. The reviewer also states a fuel-tank capacity of 60 litres for the range-extender engine and a WLTC fuel consumption figure of about 6.2 L/100 km once the battery is depleted, both of which line up with Xiaomi's own published data. AC charging specifications have not yet been disclosed.
| BATTERY | 76 kWh (CALB ternary lithium) |
|---|---|
| AC CHARGING | TBA (not disclosed) |
| DC FAST CHARGING | TBA (peak rate not disclosed) |
| DC 20-80% TIME | ∼18 min |
| FUEL TANK | 60 L (range-extender) |
Design & Interior
The showroom car's black paint shows off a slab-sided greenhouse, a full-width LED taillight bar with a red accent strip running through the "SKYNOMAD" script, and a front fascia with LED daytime running lights, LED headlights and LED high beams — there's no combustion engine to feed, so the front end mostly houses sensor and cooling ducting. Xiaomi's own aerodynamic work brought the drag coefficient down to 0.255 Cd, an unusually low figure the reviewer independently reads off the car's spec sheet as "0.25." Inside, the cream-beige leather cabin the video walks through pairs Alcantara dash trim with a diamond-quilted seat pattern, a glass roof, and a power-adjustable head-up display. The center console carries a glovebox, a ticket/document holder, a wireless charging pad, and a storage box built into the armrest. Second-row captain's chairs get their own rear entertainment screen and a central console with two cupholders and a dedicated control panel, and both front seats can rotate up to 180 degrees to face the second row when the car is parked — a five-second delay before the rotation engages is a deliberate safety pause built into the mechanism. One notable rough edge the reviewer flags directly: the infotainment software on this pre-launch unit is entirely in Chinese, with no English-language option yet available, though Xiaomi is expected to add it via a software update before wider rollout.
The N90 Max also gets 16-point zero-gravity massage seats and a 25-speaker, roughly 4,890 W audio system with 7.1.4 surround processing — a genuinely premium setup for the price bracket. Rear doors open to close to a 90-degree angle to ease child-seat access and third-row entry, and Xiaomi's "living room on wheels" pitch extends to an optional fold-out middle table and, on select trims, a roof-top tent for camping use.
Technology & Features
The N90's driver-assistance hardware is built around the 4nm Nvidia Thor chip (roughly 700 TOPS) paired with the standard roof-mounted LiDAR unit, running Xiaomi's in-house HAD assisted-driving software for highway and urban assistance. The digital gauge cluster and center touchscreen both carry the "SKYNOMAD" wordmark on the steering wheel hub and run Xiaomi's existing HyperOS car interface rather than an all-new system, which should make the transition familiar to existing SU7 and YU7 owners. Dual 5G and Wi-Fi connectivity keeps the car online for over-the-air updates and in-car streaming on long family road trips.
Safety & ADAS
Safety hardware includes 12 airbags backed by nine collision sensors, and Xiaomi says roughly 90.4% of the body structure uses high-strength steel and aluminum. Wading depth is rated at 750 mm, a figure more commonly quoted for off-roaders than family SUVs, and the published braking figure of 38.57 metres from 100 km/h to a stop is competitive for the class.
| ADAS LEVEL | Xiaomi HAD (LiDAR + Nvidia Thor compute; exact SAE level not specified by Xiaomi) |
|---|---|
| ADAS FEATURES | Standard LiDAR, 700-TOPS Thor compute platform, highway/urban assist via Xiaomi HAD, 12 airbags, 9 collision sensors |
Available Versions
| VERSION | POWER | TORQUE | 0-100 | TOP SPEED | DRIVETRAIN | BATTERY | EV RANGE | COMBINED RANGE | PRICE | KEY DIFFERENCES |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| N90 Max | 416 hp | TBA | 5.9 s | 190 km/h | AWD | 76 kWh | 464 km | 1,705 km | $44,300 (¥299,900 presale) | Flagship trim, only fully priced and specced version so far; 5- or 7-seat layout |
| N90 Pro / standard | TBA | TBA | TBA | TBA | TBA | TBA | TBA | TBA | TBA | Lower-priced trim confirmed but specs/pricing not yet published, expected at September 2026 launch |
N90 Max remains the only fully priced and specced trim as of this writing. Xiaomi has confirmed lower-priced N90 Pro and standard trims are coming but hasn't published their specs or pricing yet; some Chinese media speculate the eventual official price could land 15,000-20,000 yuan below the current presale figure once the full lineup launches, but that is unconfirmed speculation, not an official number. A smaller five-seat sibling, the Sky Nomad N70, is a separate model rather than an N90 trim, priced from roughly $38,400.
Pricing & Availability
Xiaomi opened pre-sales for the Sky Nomad N90 Max at 299,900 yuan on July 30, 2026, which converts to roughly $44,300 at current exchange rates — the reviewer's own on-camera conversion lands closer to $44,500, and the difference simply reflects which day's CNY/USD rate each source used. Those are presale figures, not final confirmed retail prices, and Xiaomi has said additional N90 Pro and base trims will follow with their own pricing. The official on-sale launch with finalized pricing across the range is set for September 2026, and cars have already reached dealer showrooms in China ahead of that date — the black N90 Max in this video was seen on an active dealer floor next to a Zeekr 9X. As of August 2026, Xiaomi has not announced any export markets for Sky Nomad, so this remains a China-only launch for now.
How It Compares
The reviewer spends much of the video comparing the N90 directly to the Zeekr 9X sitting next to it on the showroom floor — and the numbers back up why. Our own catalog prices the six-seat Zeekr 9X Luxurious 6 at $63,910, roughly $19,600 more than the N90 Max, while offering vastly more power (1,381 hp from a three-motor system) but slightly less total range (1,250 km vs. 1,705 km). The AITO M9's six-seat EREV trim costs about $25,000 more than the N90 Max and trails it on combined range too, though AITO's Huawei-backed software has a longer market track record than Xiaomi's brand-new Sky Nomad line. The Denza N9 sits closer in price, about $7,300 above the N90 Max, with dramatically more horsepower (912 hp) but a shorter 1,000 km combined range. Against all three, the N90 Max's pitch is the same one Xiaomi used with the SU7: come in well under the segment's usual price and still beat or match it on the range spec that actually matters for road-trip buyers.
- Undercuts Zeekr, Li Auto and AITO's large-SUV EREVs by tens of thousands of dollars while matching or beating their combined range
- Standard LiDAR and a 700-TOPS Nvidia Thor chip across the range rather than gated behind a top trim
- Genuinely large 2+2+3 cabin with rotating seats, air suspension, a 1,831 L max cargo hold, and premium touches like 16-point massage seats and a 25-speaker sound system
- The showroom car's infotainment software is Chinese-only with no English interface yet, and only the range-topping N90 Max is priced so far — buyers wanting a cheaper trim must wait for the September 2026 launch
- Brand-new sub-brand with zero ownership or reliability track record, and no export market announced as of August 2026
Seeing the Sky Nomad N90 Max in the metal rather than in press renders only reinforces the first impression: this is a genuinely aggressive opening shot at Li Auto and Zeekr's home turf, with hardware — standard LiDAR, a 700-TOPS compute platform, air suspension, a 25-speaker audio system — that undercuts segment leaders on both spec sheet and price. The catches are real, though: this is still a presale car from a brand nobody has actually owned yet, the cabin software isn't localized past Chinese, and cheaper trims remain unpriced ahead of the real September 2026 launch. For buyers who trust Xiaomi's execution after the SU7 and YU7, and who don't need the car until autumn anyway, the N90 Max looks like one of the sharper value plays in China's family-SUV segment this year.

