The Kia Sorento is the brand's three-row mid-size SUV, and it now comes in two electrified forms that are easy to mix up. The Sorento Hybrid (HEV) pairs a 1.6-litre turbo petrol engine with an electric motor and a battery of only about 1.5 kWh; it cannot be plugged in. The Sorento Plug-in Hybrid (PHEV) uses the same engine with a larger motor and a battery of roughly 14 kWh, comes with all-wheel drive as standard and can be charged from the grid. In the US, Kia's website now lists the Hybrid as a 2027 model, from $39,090 before destination, while Kia America's 19 October 2026 pricing release lists the Plug-in Hybrid as a 2027 model in a single X-Line SX-Prestige AWD trim at $53,890 before destination; its published figures are 268 hp and 31 miles of EPA electric range. In Israel, the importer Telcar sells only the six-seat hybrid, at NIS 319,900. This article labels every figure HEV or PHEV and gives the model year where it matters.
Performance & Specs
Hybrid (HEV, 2027 model year): Kia America's 2027 Sorento Hybrid page states 173 kW (235 PS / 232 hp) and 270 lb-ft (about 366 Nm) from the turbo-hybrid system, with a six-speed automatic and a choice of front-wheel drive or all-wheel drive on the EX and all-wheel drive on the X-Line trims. That is slightly above the 227 hp that Kelley Blue Book lists for the 2026 Sorento Hybrid, so readers comparing older listings will see both numbers. Kia UK's price list shows the hybrid at 235 bhp; if that is the metric figure (PS), it equals about 232 hp, which would fit the US number. The Israeli car is quoted by Kia Israel at 230 hp combined, which is a PS-based figure of about 227 hp, so Israeli specifications should not be read as the 2027 US output. In Israel, auto.co.il lists 0-100 km/h in 8.6 seconds and a 193 km/h top speed for the front-wheel-drive hybrid; Kia America's 2027 specification sheet lists 0-100 km/h in 8.9 seconds for the hybrid (9.1 seconds for the SX-Prestige) and a top speed of 193 km/h.
Plug-in Hybrid (PHEV, 2027 model year): Kia America's 19 October 2026 pricing release for the 2027 PHEV lists no powertrain changes, and the figures here come from its 2027 specification sheet. Kia America's sheet lists 200 kW (272 PS / 268 hp) and 270 lb-ft (about 366 Nm) of system torque with the six-speed automatic and standard all-wheel drive, including Terrain Mode and a centre locking differential. Kia America's page for the 2026 Plug-in Hybrid still shows 261 hp, so 268 hp is the 2027 sheet figure. Kia states an EPA-estimated 31 miles of all-electric range and 440 miles of total range on a full battery and a full tank, and the EPA rates the plug-in at 33 mpg when it runs on petrol. Kia America's 2027 specification sheet lists 0-100 km/h in 8.6 seconds and 74 MPGe combined for the PHEV.
| Powertrain | HEV (2027): 1.6 L turbo petrol full hybrid, not plug-in. PHEV (2027): same engine plus larger motor and battery, plug-in |
|---|---|
| Power | HEV 173 kW (235 PS / 232 hp) (Kia America 2027); PHEV 200 kW (272 PS / 268 hp) (system) |
| Torque | HEV 270 lb-ft (366 Nm); PHEV 270 lb-ft (366 Nm, Kia America) |
| Drivetrain | HEV: FWD or AWD; PHEV: AWD standard |
| Battery | HEV about 1.5 kWh; PHEV about 14 kWh |
| Electric range | HEV none stated; PHEV 31 miles EPA |
| POWERTRAIN TYPE | HEV (full hybrid, not plug-in, 2027) and PHEV (plug-in hybrid, 2027); 1.6 L turbo, six-speed automatic |
|---|---|
| HORSEPOWER | HEV 173 kW (235 PS / 232 hp) (Kia America, 2027); HEV 227 hp (2026 listings, Israel 230 PS); PHEV 200 kW (272 PS / 268 hp) |
| TORQUE | HEV 270 lb-ft (366 Nm); PHEV 270 lb-ft (366 Nm) |
| ACCELERATION | HEV 0-100 km/h in 8.9 s (Kia America; 9.1 s SX-Prestige); PHEV 8.6 s (Kia America) |
| TOP SPEED | HEV 193 km/h (Kia America 2027 specification sheet; Israeli listing agrees) |
| DRIVETRAIN | HEV FWD or AWD; PHEV AWD standard |
| BATTERY | HEV about 1.5 kWh; PHEV about 14 kWh (gross or usable not stated) |
| ELECTRIC RANGE | HEV none stated; PHEV 31 miles (EPA estimate, Kia America) |
| COMBINED RANGE | HEV 655 miles FWD, 602 miles AWD (Kia estimate); PHEV 440 miles (Kia estimate, full battery and full tank) |
Dimensions & Practicality
| Length | 4,816 mm (189.6 in) |
|---|---|
| Width | 1,900 mm (74.8 in) |
| Height | 1,694 mm (66.7 in, PHEV) |
| Wheelbase | 2,815 mm (110.8 in) |
| Ground clearance | 176 mm (6.93 in, PHEV); 174 mm (6.85 in, HEV) (Kia America 2027) |
The numbers above come from Kelley Blue Book's 2026 Sorento Plug-in Hybrid listing (189.6 x 74.8 x 66.7 inches on a 110.8-inch wheelbase), and Kia Israel's hybrid agrees on length and wheelbase at about 481 cm and 281.5 cm, with a width of 190 cm and a height of 170 cm. In the US, Kia's pages list three rows with seven seats, a standard second-row bench and optional captain's chairs, and up to 75.5 cubic feet (about 2,138 litres) of cargo space with the second and third rows folded, for both the Hybrid and the Plug-in Hybrid. The Israeli hybrid is sold only as a six-seater with captain's chairs in the middle row, and Kia Israel lists 179 litres behind the third row and 813 litres with the third row folded. Kia America's 2027 specification sheet gives the same length, width, height and wheelbase for both models, and lists 12.6 cubic feet (about 357 litres) behind the third row and 38.5 to 45.0 cubic feet (about 1,090 to 1,274 litres) behind the second row, the same for the Hybrid and the Plug-in Hybrid.
| LENGTH | 4,816 mm (189.6 in) |
|---|---|
| WIDTH | 1,900 mm (74.8 in) |
| HEIGHT | 1,694 mm (66.7 in, PHEV); about 1,700 mm (Israel HEV) |
| WHEELBASE | 2,815 mm (110.8 in) |
| CARGO VOLUME | US HEV and PHEV: up to 75.5 cu ft (about 2,138 L) with rows two and three folded; 12.6 cu ft (about 357 L) behind the third row (Kia America 2027). Israel HEV: 179 L (six seats up) / 813 L (third row folded) |
| SEATS | US: 7 (2+3+2, optional second-row captain's chairs). Israel HEV: 6 (2+2+2) |
Charging & Battery
Only the Plug-in Hybrid (PHEV) charges from the grid. Kia America's 2027 specification sheet lists a 14 kWh battery (360 V, 38 Ah) without saying whether that is gross or usable, Kelley Blue Book lists 14.0 kWh, and European specifications for the earlier-launched car quote 13.8 kWh. Kia's EPA-estimated 31 miles of electric range is what the car should cover on a full charge before the engine takes over; KBB and the EPA's fueleconomy.gov database print 30 miles for the same car, so the figure differs by one mile between sources. Kia America's 2027 PHEV pricing release (19 October 2026) says a combined Level 1 and Level 2 charging cable is standard on every PHEV, and Kia sells a ChargePoint Home Flex Level 2 charger as an accessory. The pages we could read give no charge time and no DC fast-charge rating, so we do not state either.
The Hybrid (HEV) has nothing to plug in. Its roughly 1.5 kWh battery (1.49 kWh in Kia America's 2027 specification sheet and in the Israeli listing) is charged by the engine and by braking, and it does not give a meaningful electric range. Kia America says the hybrid gets up to 655 miles of total driving range before refuelling, and its 2027 page lists 655 miles for the front-wheel-drive EX and 602 miles for the all-wheel-drive models. Kia America's page for the 2026 PHEV lists a 10-year or 100,000-mile limited warranty that includes the hybrid battery pack.
| BATTERY | PHEV about 14 kWh (KBB 14.0 kWh; Europe 13.8 kWh); HEV about 1.5 kWh, not plug-in |
|---|---|
| AC CHARGING | PHEV: combined Level 1 / Level 2 cable standard; no charge time published; HEV: not applicable |
| DC FAST CHARGING | Not stated for the PHEV; not applicable to the HEV |
| ELECTRIC RANGE | PHEV 31 miles (EPA estimate, Kia America); HEV none stated |
| WARRANTY | 10 years / 100,000 miles limited, including the hybrid battery pack (Kia America) |
Design & Interior
The Sorento is a big, upright SUV with a wide black grille, vertical daytime running lights and a long roofline. For 2026 Kia added an X-Line trim with glossy black wheels, window surrounds and lower trim accents, which is how the upper HEV and PHEV trims are badged in the US. Inside, Kia America's pricing release for the 2026 Sorento lists a new steering wheel with hands-on detection, a standard second-row bench seat in place of captain's chairs on the EX, optional captain's chairs and Bose audio in the EX Premium Package, and a one-tone black leather interior option. According to Cars.com, the PHEV's top X-Line SX Prestige trim adds a panoramic moonroof, perforated leather, a heated steering wheel and a 12-speaker Bose system. For 2027 Kia America lists the single PHEV trim, the X-Line SX-Prestige AWD, with X-Line embossed front seat backs, machined wood inlays on the instrument panel and doors, a head-up display as standard, black 19-inch wheels, black glossy and gun-metal garnish and roof rails, with Pale Gray paint replacing Steel Gray. For the 2027 Hybrid, Kia America's 15 October 2026 release adds a new X-Line EX trim with gloss-black wheels and exterior accents on top of the EX content; all X-Line trims have machined wood inlays on the instrument panel and doors, and the X-Line SX-Prestige adds a panoramic sunroof, Bose Premium Audio and second-row captain's chairs. The range-topping SX-Prestige also gains a standard head-up display, Pale Gray replaces Steel Gray and HEV emblems are added to the tailgate.
The Israeli six-seater has its own layout, with captain's chairs in the middle row, easy access to the third row and vegan-leather upholstery. Kia Israel lists a panoramic display of two 12.3-inch screens, a dial-type shift-by-wire selector, a wireless phone charging pad and a power tailgate. The photos in this article are official Kia images of the Sorento in its US and European specifications and are not tied to one specific powertrain, because the HEV and PHEV look almost identical from outside.
Technology & Features
On the US side, Kia America lists a 12.3-inch touchscreen with navigation and Kia Connect, wireless Apple CarPlay and Android Auto, a smart power liftgate with auto-close on the hybrids, heated front seats and Terrain Mode, which is standard on all-wheel-drive models. Cars.com describes the 2026 PHEV EX, a trim dropped for 2027, as having a 10.25-inch touchscreen, a wireless charging pad and a heated 10-way power driver seat, so the screen size varies by source and trim; check the configurator for the trim you want. The Israeli car adds a 12.3-inch digital cluster and the shift-by-wire dial.
Safety & ADAS
Kia America's 2027 Hybrid page states that the 2026 Sorento Hybrid was named an IIHS Top Safety Pick+ for vehicles built after September 2025. Kia America lists automatic emergency braking with pedestrian and cyclist detection, rear cross-traffic collision avoidance and, on the HEV, up to 29 available driver-assistance features. Kia Israel lists smart cruise control to a full stop, lane-centring steering assistance, blind-spot collision avoidance, rear cross-traffic braking and a safe-exit warning. These are driver-assistance systems, not self-driving, and Kia states no automation level.
| ADAS LEVEL | Driver-supervised assistance (no SAE level stated by Kia) |
|---|---|
| ADAS FEATURES | AEB with pedestrian and cyclist detection, rear cross-traffic collision avoidance, smart cruise control to a stop, lane-centring assist, blind-spot collision avoidance, safe-exit warning (varies by market and trim) |
Available Versions
| VERSION | POWER | TORQUE | DRIVETRAIN | BATTERY | EV RANGE | COMBINED RANGE | PRICE | KEY DIFFERENCES |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sorento HEV EX (2027) | 173 kW (235 PS / 232 hp) | 366 Nm | FWD | 1.5 kWh | — | 655 mi | $39,090 | Entry hybrid; 37 mpg combined EPA (37 city / 36 highway) |
| Sorento HEV EX AWD (2027) | 173 kW (235 PS / 232 hp) | 366 Nm | AWD | 1.5 kWh | — | 602 mi | $40,890 | EX with AWD and Terrain Mode; 34 mpg combined EPA (32 city / 35 highway) |
| Sorento HEV X-Line EX AWD (2027) | 173 kW (235 PS / 232 hp) | 366 Nm | AWD | 1.5 kWh | — | 602 mi | $43,090 | New for 2027: gloss-black wheels and exterior accents on top of EX content, machined wood inlays; AWD with Terrain Mode; 34 mpg combined EPA (32 city / 35 highway) |
| Sorento HEV X-Line SX-Prestige AWD (2027) | 173 kW (235 PS / 232 hp) | 366 Nm | AWD | 1.5 kWh | — | 602 mi | $47,590 | Top hybrid trim; adds panoramic sunroof, Bose Premium Audio and second-row captain's chairs, head-up display standard; 34 mpg combined EPA (32 city / 35 highway) |
| Sorento PHEV X-Line SX-Prestige AWD (2027) | 200 kW (272 PS / 268 hp) | 366 Nm | AWD | 14.0 kWh | 31 mi | 440 mi | $53,890 | Only PHEV trim for 2027; head-up display standard; panoramic roof, Bose audio, heated wheel (Cars.com) |
Pricing & Availability
All US prices are manufacturer's suggested retail prices before destination, as published by Kia America on 15 October 2026 (Hybrid) and 19 October 2026 (Plug-in Hybrid). For the 2027 Sorento Hybrid (HEV), Kia lists the EX FWD at $39,090, the EX AWD at $40,890, the X-Line EX AWD at $43,090 and the X-Line SX-Prestige AWD at $47,590. For comparison, the 2026 Sorento Hybrid EX FWD was priced at $38,890 with a $1,445 destination charge. Kia's October 2026 releases for the 2027 Sorento list a $1,495 destination fee, which brings the Hybrid EX FWD to $40,585. The 2027 Sorento Plug-in Hybrid (PHEV) has been cut to a single trim, the X-Line SX-Prestige AWD, at $53,890, or $55,385 with the $1,495 destination fee; the EX trim is no longer offered. At the current ECB rate of 1 USD = 3.0482 NIS, NIS 319,900 is about $105,000.
In the United Kingdom, Kia UK's price table lists the Sorento Hybrid (labelled 235 bhp) at £43,315 including VAT for the Pure, £46,695 for the Evolve and £51,195 for the Aspire, or £44,705, £48,935 and £53,435 on the road. The Sorento Plug-In Hybrid (labelled 283 bhp) is £47,480, £51,710 and £56,210 for the same grades, or £48,425, £52,655 and £57,155 on the road. We could not reconcile that 283 bhp label with the 268 hp quoted in the US, so we do not use it as a specification. In Israel, the importer Telcar sells the Sorento in hybrid form only, as a six-seater with the EX/TOP trim at NIS 319,900 including VAT (NIS 323,799 with the licence fee) according to Kia Israel's price list; the 1.6-litre turbo hybrid replaced the earlier diesel when it launched in March 2025. A plug-in version is not listed on Kia Israel's site.
How It Compares
The closest rival that we have covered for the Sorento PHEV is the Toyota RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid, which sells in the same US market. On paper it has more power (324 hp against 268 hp), a bigger 22.7 kWh battery and up to 50 miles of electric range (Toyota) against the Sorento's 31 miles, and it starts $12,390 lower before destination. The trade-off is size: the RAV4 is a five-seater, while the Sorento offers a third row and seven seats. The MG S9 PHEV is the other seven-seat plug-in we have covered, but it is a UK car: front-wheel drive, 62 miles of WLTP range from a 24.7 kWh battery and a starting price of £34,205, against a UK Sorento PHEV price of £47,480 including VAT. WLTP and EPA range figures use different test procedures, so the S9's 62 miles cannot be compared directly with the Sorento's 31 miles.
- Two electrified options in a three-row SUV: a plug-free HEV at 232 hp and 37 mpg combined (FWD), and a PHEV with 268 hp and 31 miles of EPA electric range
- Large and practical: up to 75.5 cubic feet of cargo space in the US, seven seats, and AWD standard on the PHEV
- Kia lists a 10-year / 100,000-mile limited warranty that includes the hybrid battery pack on the PHEV (US)
- The PHEV's 31 miles of electric range trails plug-in rivals such as the RAV4 PHEV at up to 50 miles, and costs $53,890 before destination
- Model years and specifications are not aligned across markets: the HEV is a 2027 model in the US while Israel quotes 230 PS (about 227 hp), and the PHEV is not offered in Israel
The Sorento Hybrid is the easy recommendation for a family that wants a three-row SUV with low fuel bills and no need for a charger: 232 hp, up to 37 mpg combined and a price from $39,090. The Plug-in Hybrid is worth choosing only for buyers who can charge at home and will drive mostly short trips, because its 31 miles of electric range is modest and it costs about $14,800 more than the entry hybrid. In Israel, where only the six-seat hybrid is sold, the question is mainly price, at NIS 319,900.

