The Audi A5 e-hybrid is the plug-in hybrid (PHEV) version of the current A5, sold as a Sedan and as an Avant wagon on Audi's Premium Platform Combustion. It pairs a 2.0 TFSI petrol engine with a 105 kW electric motor and a 25.9 kWh gross battery (20.7 kWh net), and it comes in two power levels: 220 kW (299 PS, about 295 hp) and 270 kW (367 PS, about 362 hp). Audi's launch material promised up to 110 km of electric driving, and the technical data sheets it published in July 2026 list a WLTP combined electric range of 100 to 121 km depending on body and power level. In Germany the Sedan with 220 kW is listed from €65,100 for the 2027 model year, and in Israel the importer Champion Motors lists the A5 Sedan e-hybrid from NIS 449,900. The other A5 versions, petrol and diesel, are mild hybrids (MHEV plus) that cannot be plugged in, so the e-hybrid is the only A5 with a charging socket apart from the RS 5 performance plug-in hybrid.
Performance & Specs
The combustion side is a 1,984 cc four-cylinder turbo with direct injection that makes 185 kW (252 PS, about 249 hp) and 380 Nm. A permanently excited synchronous motor with a peak output of 105 kW (143 PS, about 141 hp) and 350 Nm sits inside the housing of the seven-speed S tronic dual-clutch gearbox, with a continuous output of 55 kW. Audi tunes the combined system to 220 kW (299 PS, about 295 hp) with 450 Nm, or 270 kW (367 PS, about 362 hp) with 500 Nm. The 270 kW car reaches 100 km/h in 5.1 seconds and the 220 kW car in 5.9 seconds, and both are limited to 250 km/h. In electric mode the top speed is 140 km/h. A note on units: Audi quotes kW and PS, and PS is the metric horsepower, about 1.4 percent smaller than the imperial hp, which is why 367 PS equals roughly 362 hp and not 367. The figures above are rated system outputs.
Drive goes to all four wheels. Audi calls it quattro all-wheel drive with ultra technology, and the gearbox is a hydraulically operated wet dual clutch. The car has two operating modes, EV and hybrid. In EV mode it runs on electricity until the battery is empty, and the petrol engine only joins in if the driver deselects EV, chooses driving program S, uses kickdown or starts route guidance with the hybrid assistant active. In hybrid mode the management system holds a charge level, and the driver can set the target charge level with a digital slider in the MMI. When the target is above the actual charge the engine recharges the battery, but only above 65 km/h and only up to 75 percent; beyond that the car needs an external AC source. Regenerative braking can feed up to 88 kW back into the battery, the motor handles more than 90 percent of all decelerations, and in EV mode three recuperation levels are selected with paddles on the steering wheel, as in Audi's battery-electric cars.
| Powertrain | Plug-in hybrid (PHEV): 2.0 TFSI plus 105 kW motor, quattro AWD |
|---|---|
| Power | 270 kW (367 PS / 362 hp); 220 kW (299 PS / 295 hp) |
| Torque | 500 Nm; 450 Nm (220 kW) |
| 0–100 km/h | 5.1 s; 5.9 s (220 kW) |
| Battery | 25.9 kWh gross, 20.7 kWh net |
| Range | Up to 121 km electric (WLTP, Sedan 220 kW) |
| POWERTRAIN TYPE | Plug-in hybrid (PHEV): 2.0 TFSI four-cylinder plus electric motor |
|---|---|
| HORSEPOWER | 220 kW (299 PS / 295 hp); 270 kW (367 PS / 362 hp) |
| TORQUE | 450 Nm (220 kW); 500 Nm (270 kW) |
| ACCELERATION | 0-100 km/h in 5.9 s (220 kW); 5.1 s (270 kW) |
| TOP SPEED | 250 km/h (limited); 140 km/h electric |
| DRIVETRAIN | quattro all-wheel drive, 7-speed S tronic |
| BATTERY | 25.9 kWh gross / 20.7 kWh net, about 400 V |
| ELECTRIC RANGE | Up to 110 km (Audi launch claim); 100-121 km WLTP combined per Audi's July 2026 data sheets |
| WLTP CONSUMPTION | Sedan 220 kW: 1.7-2.2 l/100 km plus 14.8-16.2 kWh/100 km (weighted combined, CO2 38-51 g/km) |
Dimensions & Practicality
| Length | 4,829-4,835 mm |
|---|---|
| Width | 1,860 mm (2,099 mm with mirrors) |
| Height | 1,411-1,463 mm (Avant 1,426-1,478 mm) |
| Wheelbase | 2,896-2,900 mm |
| Luggage | 331-1,175 L (Avant 361-1,306 L) |
Sedan and Avant share the same footprint: 4,829 to 4,835 mm long, 1,860 mm wide without mirrors (2,099 mm with them) and a wheelbase of 2,896 to 2,900 mm, according to Audi's German data sheets. The ranges depend on chassis and equipment line. The Sedan is 1,411 to 1,463 mm tall and the Avant 1,426 to 1,478 mm. The Sedan is a five-door with a boot of 331 litres, growing to 1,175 litres with the rear seats folded, while the Avant offers 361 litres and 1,306 litres. The battery sits at the rear of the car, and Audi says its installation space grew only slightly compared with the smaller pack it replaces; on the Avant the rear seat backs fold in a 40:20:40 ratio.
The battery adds weight. The July 2026 data sheets list an unladen weight of 2,070 kg for the Sedan with 220 kW and 2,095 kg for the Sedan with 270 kW (2,145 and 2,170 kg with a 75 kg driver, the EU convention), and 2,085 kg and 2,110 kg for the Avant. The permissible gross weight is 2,635 to 2,665 kg. The braked trailer load is 1,900 kg on an 8 percent slope and 1,700 kg on a 12 percent slope, the unbraked load is 750 kg, the roof load is 90 kg and the nose weight is 80 kg. The fuel tank holds 46 litres, the turning circle is 12.2 metres and the loading edge sits 641 to 671 mm above the ground. The drag coefficient is 0.27 for the Sedan 220 kW and 0.28 for the 270 kW, against 0.29 and 0.30 for the Avant.
| LENGTH | 4,829-4,835 mm |
|---|---|
| WIDTH | 1,860 mm (without mirrors); 2,099 mm with mirrors |
| HEIGHT | 1,411-1,463 mm Sedan; 1,426-1,478 mm Avant |
| WHEELBASE | 2,896-2,900 mm |
| CARGO VOLUME | 331 L / 1,175 L seats up / folded (Sedan); 361 L / 1,306 L (Avant) |
| UNLADEN WEIGHT (without driver) | Sedan 2,070 kg (220 kW) / 2,095 kg (270 kW); Avant 2,085 kg / 2,110 kg |
| TOWING | 1,900 kg braked (8% slope), 1,700 kg (12% slope), 750 kg unbraked |
Charging & Battery
The high-voltage battery sits at the rear of the car and measures 992 x 996 x 177 mm. Its 102 prismatic cells with 70 Ah each are arranged in a single layer, grouped in six stacks of 17 cells, and are glued directly into the housing in a cell-to-pack design, which Audi says raises energy density. The system runs at about 400 volts. Audi lists 25.9 kWh as gross capacity and 20.7 kWh as net, the energy that is available for driving. Some outlets print 25.9 kWh as the usable figure, but Audi's release, its data sheets and the Israeli importer all give 20.7 kWh net.
The A5 e-hybrid charges with alternating current only. Audi lists a maximum AC power of 11 kW on three phases, up from 7.4 kW on two phases in the previous generation, and its technical data sheets contain no DC fast-charging figure. Audi's press release says a full charge from empty takes 2.5 hours; the July 2026 data sheets list 165 minutes for 0 to 100 percent at 11 kW (three phases, 16 A, 230 V). A Mode 3 Type 2 cable is included. The WLTP figures for the Sedan with 220 kW are 14.8 to 16.2 kWh/100 km plus 1.7 to 2.2 l/100 km in the weighted combined cycle, with CO2 emissions of 38 to 51 g/km; the 270 kW Sedan is rated at 15.0 to 16.2 kWh/100 km, 1.8 to 2.2 l/100 km and 40 to 51 g/km. With a depleted battery the Sedan uses 6.1 to 6.9 l/100 km (CO2 138 to 156 g/km).
| BATTERY | 25.9 kWh gross / 20.7 kWh net, 102 cells, about 400 V |
|---|---|
| AC CHARGING | 11 kW three-phase; 2.5 h (Audi release) / 165 min (data sheet) from empty |
| DC FAST CHARGING | Not listed by Audi (AC only) |
| EV RANGE (WLTP, GERMANY) | Sedan 220 kW 104-121 km; Sedan 270 kW 103-118 km; Avant 220 kW 100-119 km; Avant 270 kW 100-115 km |
| WLTP CONSUMPTION | Sedan 14.8-16.2 kWh/100 km plus 1.7-2.2 l/100 km (weighted combined) |
Design & Interior
Audi describes the A5 as the next chapter of its mid-size cars, with a more striking design language and a new operating concept. The plug-in hybrids look like their combustion siblings: a wide hexagonal single-frame grille, slim headlights and a continuous rear light strip, on a long, low body that is a five-door Sedan with a sloping tail or an Avant with a flatter roof line. The press images show the Sedan with a coupe-like silhouette. The 270 kW version comes as standard with the S line exterior package, the black styling package and privacy glazing, which makes it look sportier than the 220 kW car. Standard wheels on both versions are 18-inch cast aluminium with 235/45 R18 tyres.
Inside, Audi puts its displays on what it calls a digital stage. The plug-in hybrids come with the MMI panoramic display, navigation, an inductive phone charging pad, three-zone automatic air conditioning and progressive steering as standard. Israeli launch coverage by Cartube lists a 14.5-inch multimedia screen, an 11.9-inch digital instrument cluster, a 10.9-inch passenger display, a ten-speaker audio system, heated front seats, an electric tailgate, a 360-degree camera and LED Matrix headlights as standard on the local cars; equipment differs by market and trim, so check the specification of the car you order.
Technology & Features
The plug-in hybrid functions are the main technology story. Audi says the new E3 electronics architecture of the Premium Platform Combustion allows the steering-wheel paddles to adjust the thrust recuperation in EV mode, and that the pulse inverter is a new development that is smaller, lighter and more efficient than the previous one. The hybrid assistant uses the route stored in the navigation system, such as gradients, curve radii, place-name signs and speed limits, and information about the traffic ahead, to plan where the car should use electricity. When the driver presses the brake pedal, an integrated brake control system with blending lets the motor take the load first and uses the hydraulic brakes only for harder stops, without changing the pedal feel.
Charge-level control is the feature Audi highlights. In hybrid mode the driver can set a target charge with the digital slider, for example to arrive in a city centre with a full battery, and the engine either holds the charge, depletes it down to the target or recharges it, depending on whether the target is lower than, equal to or higher than the actual value. The car can also be started in EV or hybrid mode, and it remembers the last mode used. The plug-in hybrid models are built in Neckarsulm, Germany.
Safety & ADAS
Euro NCAP awarded the A5 five stars. The car was tested in 2024 and the result was published on 20 May 2025; Euro NCAP states that additional checks were carried out so that the rating applies to the plug-in hybrid version as well. Audi's data sheets list electromechanical progressive steering with speed-dependent assistance, five-link suspension on both axles, an ESC/ABS/EBD system with hydraulic brake assist, and front and rear floating calipers with an electronic parking brake and 360 mm front discs (330 mm at the rear on the 220 kW and 350 mm on the 270 kW Sedan). The driver-assistance package differs by market, and Audi does not state an SAE automation level for the A5. Israeli launch coverage mentions a 360-degree camera, parking sensors and automatic parking as standard on the local cars.
| ADAS LEVEL | Not stated by Audi (Euro NCAP: 5 stars, A5 range incl. PHEV, tested 2024, published 20 May 2025) |
|---|---|
| ADAS FEATURES | Israel (Cartube launch coverage): 360-degree camera, parking sensors, automatic parking; equipment varies by market |
Available Versions
| VERSION | POWER | TORQUE | 0-100 | TOP SPEED | DRIVETRAIN | BATTERY | EV RANGE | COMBINED RANGE | PRICE | KEY DIFFERENCES |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| A5 Sedan e-hybrid quattro 220 kW | 295 hp | 450 Nm | 5.9s | 250 km/h | AWD | 25.9 kWh | 121 km | — | €65,100 | 299 PS; Germany list price, 2027 model year; EV range 104-121 km WLTP |
| A5 Avant e-hybrid quattro 220 kW | 295 hp | 450 Nm | 5.9s | 250 km/h | AWD | 25.9 kWh | 119 km | — | €66,750 | Wagon, 361-1,306 L luggage; EV range 100-119 km WLTP |
| A5 Sedan e-hybrid quattro 270 kW | 362 hp | 500 Nm | 5.1s | 250 km/h | AWD | 25.9 kWh | 118 km | — | €73,500 | 367 PS; S line exterior and black package as standard; EV range 103-118 km WLTP |
| A5 Avant e-hybrid quattro 270 kW | 362 hp | 500 Nm | 5.1s | 250 km/h | AWD | 25.9 kWh | 115 km | — | €75,150 | 367 PS, Avant body; EV range 100-115 km WLTP |
Pricing & Availability
Audi opened European orders for the A5 e-hybrid on 27 March 2025 with German prices of €62,500 for the Sedan and €64,150 for the Avant with 220 kW, and €70,900 and €72,550 with 270 kW, all including VAT, and the market launch planned for April 2025. Audi published its model-year 2027 price list for the A5 range on 23 July 2026, but we could not open the PDF, so the current figures come from retailer and catalogue sources: €65,100 (Sedan 220 kW), €66,750 (Avant 220 kW), €73,500 (Sedan 270 kW) and €75,150 (Avant 270 kW), as listed by MeinAuto, AUTO BILD and the ADAC car catalogue. That is about 4 percent more than at launch, and buyers should check Audi's configurator before ordering. The UK received the A5 e-hybrid in May 2025 with the 299 PS version and an electric range of up to 67 miles at launch; we did not verify a current UK price.
In Israel Champion Motors, the Audi importer, lists the A5 Sedan e-hybrid on audi.co.il in two versions: the 50 e-hybrid quattro (299 PS) at NIS 449,900 and the 55 e-hybrid quattro (367 PS) at NIS 519,900, both including VAT, plus a registration fee of NIS 5,499, so NIS 455,399 and NIS 525,399 on the road. These are the importer's price list no. 089 dated 25 October 2026, before promotions and discounts. The Israeli outlet Cartube reported the launch on 30 June 2025 at NIS 449,900 and NIS 509,000. Audi Israel's page prints the output in hp for what are PS figures (299 and 367, equal to about 295 and 362 hp) and lists an electric range of 103 km and 102 km, below the figures in Audi's German data sheets, and the importer's data footnote reads "as of January 2026", so Israeli buyers should rely on the importer's own numbers. We found no Avant e-hybrid page on Audi Israel's site.
How It Compares
The closest rival we cover is the Mercedes-Benz C 400 e plug-in hybrid, which comes only with 4MATIC all-wheel drive. Its 290 kW (394 PS, about 389 hp) system is stronger than the A5's 362 hp, and the Mercedes starts at €73,548 in Germany according to mercedesblog.com (August 2026; we could not confirm it on Mercedes' own site), almost exactly where the Audi A5 Sedan with 270 kW sits at €73,500; the 220 kW A5 undercuts it by €8,448. Mercedes quotes a battery of 19.5 kWh net against the Audi's 20.7 kWh, Mercedes itself quotes up to 100 km of electric range (WLTP) while type-approval data lists up to 109 km, so the electric ranges are close. The Audi Q5 e-hybrid shares the same 25.9 kWh battery and both power levels, starts at €65,500 and offers up to 107 km of range as an SUV; the A5 Sedan costs €400 less at the base, lists a longer electric range in Audi's own data (up to 121 km against 107 km) and, as a Sedan or Avant, sits lower than the Q5 SUV. The choice between them is mostly body style.
- Real plug-in range: 20.7 kWh net battery and 100-121 km WLTP electric range in Audi's July 2026 data sheets, with quattro all-wheel drive on every version
- Two power levels, 295 hp and 362 hp, with 0-100 km/h in 5.9 or 5.1 seconds and a choice of Sedan or Avant from €65,100 in Germany
- Smart hybrid management: digital target-charge slider, route-based planning, 88 kW recuperation and three paddle-selected regeneration levels
- No DC fast charging is listed, so charging depends on AC at up to 11 kW, about 2.5 to 2.75 hours from empty
- Heavy at 2,070 to 2,110 kg unladen, and with a depleted battery consumption rises to 6.1-6.9 l/100 km with CO2 of 138-156 g/km
The A5 e-hybrid is a sensible plug-in for buyers who can charge at home and want an Audi sedan or wagon that covers most daily trips on electricity: 20.7 kWh net, 100 to 121 km WLTP, quattro and a choice between 295 hp and 362 hp. It does not pretend to be an EV, and the lack of DC charging and the weight are the trade-offs, along with list prices that have risen about 4 percent since the 2025 launch. Our pick is the 220 kW Sedan, which has the lowest price, 5.9 seconds to 100 km/h and the longest listed electric range, unless the 5.1-second 270 kW version is what you want. A good all-rounder for German buyers and for Israeli buyers who commute short distances.

