GWM's Haval brand has given its boxy Raptor off-roader a mid-cycle update for the 2026 model year, and the headline number is hard to miss: 330 kW (443 hp) from a plug-in hybrid system that used to top out at 220 kW (295 hp). The facelift keeps the Raptor's slab-sided, Defender-adjacent silhouette but swaps in square headlights, a redesigned taillight, and GWM's second-generation Hi4 hybrid hardware. The biggest functional change is a new flagship 35.43 kWh battery pack that stretches CLTC electric-only range to 200 km, up from around 145 km on the outgoing car's largest pack. Pricing runs from roughly 173,800 to 208,800 yuan (about $23,700 to $28,500) across six trims, positioning the Raptor as a value alternative to pricier rugged PHEV SUVs in China. The car went on sale in China on August 19, 2025 as a 2026 model-year update and has been in showrooms for roughly a year as of this writing, despite the 2026 model-year badge.
Performance & Specs
The updated Hi4 system pairs a 1.5-liter turbocharged four-cylinder engine (GWM's GW4B15M) with a front and rear electric motor in a P2+P4 layout, giving the car electronically controlled all-wheel drive without a traditional transfer case. On the range-topping Hi4 200 configurations, the combined system produces 330 kW (443 hp) and 750 Nm of torque, enough for a 5.9-second 0-100 km/h run in a body-on-frame-styled SUV that weighs over two tonnes. That's a substantial jump from the previous Raptor Hi4, which maxed out at 220 kW (295 hp) and 510 Nm with a 6.0-second sprint time — GWM's own figures show the facelift adds roughly 150 hp and cuts a tenth off the sprint despite the extra battery weight. Lower Hi4 105 and Hi4 150 trims carry smaller batteries and correspondingly less total system output; GWM has not published a full per-trim power breakdown, only the 220-330 kW range across the six-trim lineup, so exact horsepower for the entry configurations should be treated as unconfirmed. Torque is quoted at a flat 750 Nm across the range according to GWM's own materials, and top speed is unchanged at 190 km/h. Off-road hardware carries over largely intact: seven drive modes (Standard, Eco, Sport, Snow, Mud, Sand, and 4WD), an electronically controlled rear differential lock on higher trims, and Hi4's torque-vectoring logic, which GWM says was retuned with an improved ice-and-snow algorithm for this update. Precise ground clearance, wading depth, and approach/departure angle figures for this specific facelift were not disclosed in GWM's launch materials or in CarNewsChina's coverage, so those remain TBA rather than reused from older Raptor figures that may no longer apply to the revised suspension and battery packaging.
| Powertrain | 1.5T (GW4B15M) + dual-motor Hi4 PHEV |
|---|---|
| Power | 330 kW (443 hp), top Hi4 200 trims |
| Torque | 750 Nm combined |
| 0–100 km/h | 5.9 s |
| Battery | 35.43 kWh NMC (top trim) |
| Range | 200 km EV (CLTC) / 1,000+ km combined |
| POWERTRAIN TYPE | PHEV — Hi4 electronically controlled 4WD |
|---|---|
| HORSEPOWER | 330 kW (443 hp), top Hi4 200 trims |
| ACCELERATION | 5.9 s (0–100 km/h), top Hi4 200 trims |
| TOP SPEED | 190 km/h |
| DRIVETRAIN | AWD (P2+P4 electric four-wheel drive) |
| BATTERY | 35.43 kWh NMC (top trim); 18.74–27.9 kWh LFP/NMC on lower trims |
| ELECTRIC RANGE | 200 km CLTC (top trim) |
| COMBINED RANGE | 1,000+ km (top trim) |
Dimensions & Practicality
| Length | 4,800 mm |
|---|---|
| Width | 1,950 mm |
| Height | 1,843 mm |
| Wheelbase | 2,738 mm |
| Ground clearance | TBA — not disclosed by GWM |
| Weight | 2,055–2,135 kg |
The Raptor keeps its boxy, upright proportions for this update: a 4,800 mm length, 1,950 mm width including its widened wheel-arch cladding, and a 1,843 mm height on the higher trims, riding on a 2,738 mm wheelbase that's unchanged from the outgoing car. Curb weight ranges from 2,055 kg on the entry Hi4 105 Pro trim to 2,135 kg on the battery-heavy Hi4 200 configurations. All six trims are a strict five-seat layout — unlike GWM's separately-announced Raptor Plus, a longer six-to-seven-seat variant that shares the Hi4 powertrain but is sold as a distinct model. Wheels are 255/60 R19 all-season tires across the range. Cargo volume and frunk capacity were not published in GWM's launch materials or in the CarNewsChina coverage cross-checked for this article, so those figures remain TBA rather than estimated from the exterior dimensions.
| LENGTH | 4,800 mm |
|---|---|
| WIDTH | 1,950 mm |
| HEIGHT | 1,843 mm |
| WHEELBASE | 2,738 mm |
| CARGO VOLUME | TBA — not disclosed by GWM |
| FRUNK | Not applicable — 1.5T engine occupies the front compartment |
Charging & Battery
GWM fits the Raptor facelift with LFP packs on the entry Hi4 105 and Hi4 150 trims (18.74 kWh and 27.54 kWh respectively) and steps up to a mixed LFP/NMC 27.5–27.9 kWh pack on Hi4 150 Ultra trims, topping out at a 35.43 kWh ternary NMC pack — built with SVOLT cells rated around 173 Wh/kg — on the flagship Hi4 200 Ultra and Ultra Nav trims. GWM's own spec data confirms a DC fast-charging port and a 30-80% DC charging window, but the automaker has not published the actual charging power in kW or a charge-time-in-minutes figure for this facelift, so both remain TBA rather than carried over from the outgoing Raptor or estimated from pack size. AC charging is supported through a separate port near the right fuel-filler position, again without a published kW rating. The battery and drive-motor system carries an 8-year/150,000 km warranty, per GWM's published data. Buyers cross-shopping on charging speed should confirm current figures with a dealer until GWM publishes official numbers.
| BATTERY | 35.43 kWh NMC (top trim); 18.74–27.9 kWh LFP/NMC on lower trims |
|---|---|
| AC CHARGING | TBA — not disclosed by GWM |
| DC FAST CHARGING | TBA — not disclosed by GWM |
| DC 10-80% TIME | TBA — GWM cites a 30-80% DC charging window with no published duration |
Design & Interior
The facelift's most visible change is up front: the previous round headlights are gone, replaced by square units built from 123 LED elements each and rated for 189 meters of illumination distance, flanked by a 1,088 mm light strip that spans the width of the grille. The grille itself shrinks slightly and now carries six rectangular black accents instead of the outgoing car's simpler mesh pattern. Around back, the two separate square taillight elements are consolidated into a single horizontal unit built from 300 red LEDs, and the "HAVAL" script on the rear-mounted spare tire cover has been swapped for a plain "GWM" logo, reflecting the brand's broader push to lead with the parent company's name on its off-road-focused models. The side profile — straight beltline, black wheel-arch cladding, roof rails, external-mounted spare — carries over unchanged, and a new Mint Green paint option joins the color chart. Inside, GWM redesigned the steering wheel with a flat-bottomed, two-spoke design and moved gear selection to steering-column-mounted paddles, eliminating the previous console-mounted shifter to free up cabin storage. The dashboard gets fewer physical buttons than before, with more functions folded into the touchscreen. Seats are electrically adjustable with heating and ventilation up front, and rear seatbacks recline between 27 and 32 degrees for long-haul comfort — a small but genuinely useful touch for an off-roader that GWM is positioning as a weekend-trip vehicle as much as a trail rig.
Technology & Features
The instrument cluster is a 12.3-inch digital display paired with a 14.6-inch center touchscreen running Coffee OS 3, GWM's latest infotainment software, at 1920x1080 resolution. Phone mirroring covers Huawei HiCar and ICCOA CarLink, giving both Huawei and non-Huawei Android phone owners a native-feeling connected experience — a meaningful consideration in a Chinese market where HarmonyOS-based phones are increasingly common. Optional equipment on higher trims includes a head-up display, memory parking that recalls previous parking maneuvers, and highway Navigate-on-Autopilot functioning across the 0-150 km/h range, extending GWM's driver-assistance suite beyond the low-speed traffic-jam assist common on cheaper PHEVs. The sound system scales from eight to ten speakers depending on trim. None of this represents genuinely new hardware for GWM's Hi4 lineup broadly, but it is a step up from what the outgoing Raptor offered, particularly the jump from the older single-screen layout to the current dual-display setup carried over from GWM's more recently launched models.
Safety & ADAS
The Raptor facelift runs GWM's "Coffee Pilot" (and "Coffee Pilot Plus" on higher trims) driver-assistance suite, built around a 32TOPS TDA4VH chip processing input from front, rear, and fisheye cameras alongside front and rear-corner millimeter-wave radar and up to 12 ultrasonic sensors. Top trims add highway Navigate-on-Autopilot across 0-150 km/h and adaptive cruise control, while a 360-degree surround camera and rear parking radar are standard from the Pro trim up. Convenience-safety features include full-scenario memory parking and an available head-up display for projecting key information onto the windshield. GWM's published spec sheet also lists lane keeping assist, traffic sign recognition, blind-spot monitoring, and an active braking system, though a formal SAE ADAS level beyond "L2" and an exact airbag count were not confirmed in the sources checked for this article, so those specifics remain TBA rather than assumed to carry over unchanged from the outgoing model.
| ADAS LEVEL | L2 (Coffee Pilot / Coffee Pilot Plus, higher trims) |
|---|---|
| ADAS FEATURES | Highway NOA (0-150 km/h, top trims), adaptive cruise control, lane keeping assist, traffic sign recognition, blind-spot monitoring, active braking, 360° camera, front/rear/fisheye cameras, front + rear-corner radar, 12 ultrasonic sensors, memory parking, HUD |
Available Versions
| VERSION | POWER | TORQUE | 0-100 | TOP SPEED | DRIVETRAIN | BATTERY | EV RANGE | COMBINED RANGE | PRICE | KEY DIFFERENCES |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hi4 105 Pro | TBA | 750 Nm | TBA | 190 km/h | AWD | 18.74 kWh LFP | 81 km (WLTC) | TBA | $23,700 | Entry trim, smallest battery |
| Hi4 150 Pro | TBA | 750 Nm | TBA | 190 km/h | AWD | 27.54 kWh LFP | 145 km (CLTC) / 115 km (WLTC) | TBA | $25,070 | Mid-size battery, Pro equipment level |
| Hi4 150 Ultra | TBA | 750 Nm | TBA | 190 km/h | AWD | 27.5–27.9 kWh LFP/NMC | 145 km (CLTC) / 115 km (WLTC) | TBA | $26,300 | Ultra equipment level over Hi4 150 Pro |
| Hi4 200 Ultra | 443 hp | 750 Nm | 5.9 s | 190 km/h | AWD | 35.43 kWh NMC | 200 km (CLTC) / 151 km (WLTC) | 1,000+ km | $27,260 | Flagship battery and power output |
| Hi4 150 Ultra Nav | TBA | 750 Nm | TBA | 190 km/h | AWD | 27.5–27.9 kWh LFP/NMC | 145 km (CLTC) / 115 km (WLTC) | TBA | $27,530 | Adds navigation package over Hi4 150 Ultra |
| Hi4 200 Ultra Nav | 443 hp | 750 Nm | 5.9 s | 190 km/h | AWD | 35.43 kWh NMC | 200 km (CLTC) / 151 km (WLTC) | 1,000+ km | $28,490 | Range-topping trim, adds navigation package |
Pricing & Availability
The 2026 Haval Raptor PHEV officially went on sale in China on August 19, 2025, at prices from 173,800 to 208,800 yuan (approximately $23,700 to $28,500 at current exchange rates) across six trims. GWM ran a limited-time trade-in and cash-incentive promotion at launch that lowered effective prices by roughly 20,000 yuan per trim — bringing the entry configuration down to around 153,800 yuan ($21,000) — though buyers should confirm with a dealer whether that specific promotion is still active, since these campaigns are typically time-limited. As of August 2026, GWM has not announced a European or North American launch for the Raptor Hi4; the car remains a China-market-only offering, sold alongside the recently announced Raptor Plus, a longer six-to-seven-seat sibling built on the same Hi4 hardware but marketed as a separate model rather than a Raptor trim.
How It Compares
GWM's own Defender-styled sibling, the Menglong Plus, undercuts the Raptor's top trim slightly on power parity and even out-ranges it on EV-only distance, so shoppers deciding between GWM's two boxy off-roaders should cross-shop both rather than assume the Raptor is the only budget option in the family. BYD's Fangchengbao Leopard 5 shows what nearly double the Raptor's budget buys: significantly more power and a longer combined range, though at a price point that leaves the Raptor looking like the value pick for buyers who don't need the extra output. GWM's own more premium Tank 500 PHEV offers a body-on-frame ladder-chassis alternative at nearly double the Raptor's starting price with less peak power but a longer 790 km combined range — useful context for how GWM positions the Raptor as its budget off-road PHEV entry point within its own portfolio.
- Substantial power jump to 443 hp on top trims, with a quicker 5.9-second 0-100 km/h time than the outgoing car
- Largest-yet 35.43 kWh battery pushes CLTC electric range to 200 km, useful for daily commuting without touching the engine
- Aggressive starting price of roughly $23,700 undercuts most rugged PHEV SUV rivals in its own market
- GWM has not disclosed ground clearance, wading depth, approach/departure angles, or DC charging speed for this specific facelift, making off-road capability and real-world charging times hard to verify against rivals
- China-only availability with no confirmed export plans as of August 2026, and per-trim power output below the flagship 443 hp figure remains unpublished
The facelifted Raptor PHEV is a smart mid-cycle update rather than a reinvention: same boxy shape, meaningfully more power, a bigger battery, and a genuinely useful interior refresh, all without pushing the price much past where the outgoing car started. For buyers in China shopping the budget end of the rugged PHEV SUV segment, the value case is strong — 443 hp and 200 km of EV range for under $28,500 is hard to match. The trade-off is transparency: GWM's launch materials skip the off-road geometry numbers and charging speeds that serious buyers care about, and the brand hasn't spelled out how much power the cheaper Hi4 105 and 150 trims actually lose relative to the flagship. Recommended for buyers sold on the Hi4 200 Ultra trim specifically; shoppers considering a lower trim should press a dealer for the exact power figure before signing.

