Volkswagen opened pre-sale of the ID. Polo GTI on 7 October 2026, putting the GTI badge on a fully electric car for the first time in the nameplate's 50-year history. The ID. Polo GTI is a front-wheel-drive battery-electric (BEV) hot hatch built on the same compact MEB+ underpinnings as the standard ID. Polo, with 166 kW (226 PS, about 223 hp), 290 Nm and a 52 kWh net battery that gives up to 431 km on the WLTP cycle. Volkswagen quotes 0-100 km/h in 6.8 seconds and a top speed limited to 190 km/h, and lists the car from €39,995 in Germany with what it calls extensive standard equipment. The car was first shown at the 24 Hours Nurburgring on 15 May 2026, and the pre-sale data raise the top speed and range slightly compared with the figures VW gave then. Volkswagen has not stated a delivery date for the GTI.
Performance & Specs
A single electric motor drives the front wheels. VW rates it at 166 kW (226 PS, about 223 hp) with a maximum torque of 290 Nm that is available immediately, which is enough for 0-100 km/h in 6.8 seconds. The top speed is limited to 190 km/h, a figure Volkswagen says was set based on customer feedback. (PS is the metric horsepower, about 1.4 percent smaller than the imperial hp used here, so 226 PS equals roughly 223 hp.) Like every GTI since 1976, the car sends its power through the front axle, and an electronically controlled front-axle transverse differential lock is standard to distribute power between the front wheels and help in corners.
The rest of the chassis package is what makes the car a GTI rather than a quick Polo. The adaptive DCC sports suspension and a specially tuned progressive steering system are both standard. A new GTI driving profile is called up with a button on the sports steering wheel: it tunes the electric drive, steering and suspension for maximum sportiness, starts a specially developed GTI sound, and switches the cockpit to its own colour and graphic scheme. VW describes the Polo GTI's drive unit as the APP290 system, an axial-parallel motor whose name refers to the 290 Nm peak torque, and the pack is built from the Volkswagen Group's standard cell in a cell-to-pack design.
The official combined WLTP consumption is 15.7 to 14.2 kWh/100 km. VW's May 2026 data sheet gave an EU kerb weight from 1,540 kg without driver, and the independent EV Database lists 1,620 kg; the pre-sale release does not repeat a weight. The 431 km figure is the best case for the lightest equipment, and the EV Database shows 390 km for the heavier configuration with the same battery, so buyers who add options should expect to land between those two numbers.
| Powertrain | Single-motor FWD BEV |
|---|---|
| Power | 166 kW (226 PS / 223 hp) |
| Torque | 290 Nm |
| 0–100 km/h | 6.8 s |
| Battery | 52 kWh net (NMC) |
| Range | Up to 431 km WLTP |
| POWERTRAIN TYPE | Battery electric (BEV) |
|---|---|
| HORSEPOWER | 166 kW (226 PS / 223 hp) |
| TORQUE | 290 Nm |
| ACCELERATION | 0-100 km/h in 6.8 s |
| TOP SPEED | 190 km/h (limited) |
| DRIVETRAIN | FWD with electronically controlled front-axle differential lock |
| BATTERY | 52 kWh net (NMC); gross capacity not stated by VW |
| WLTP RANGE | Up to 431 km |
| WLTP CONSUMPTION | 15.7-14.2 kWh/100 km |
Dimensions & Practicality
| Length | 4,096 mm |
|---|---|
| Width | 1,816 mm |
| Height | 1,513 mm |
| Wheelbase | 2,599 mm |
| Boot | 441 L / 1,240 L seats folded |
Volkswagen says the compact electric drive components give passengers more interior space than the combustion Polo GTI, without quoting a figure. The boot is the one number that is stated: 441 litres behind the rear seats, up from 351 litres in the petrol Polo GTI, and up to 1,240 litres with the rear seatbacks folded. The exterior dimensions in this article come from the data sheet VW published in May 2026 (4,096 mm long, 1,816 mm wide, 1,513 mm high, on a 2,599 mm wheelbase); the EV Database lists the same length and width with a 1,515 mm height and a 2,594 mm wheelbase, so treat the last two digits of height and wheelbase as preliminary. A detachable tow bar is optional, and with a nose weight of 75 kg it is meant for a bike carrier with two e-bikes; Volkswagen does not give a trailer towing rating.
| LENGTH | 4,096 mm |
|---|---|
| WIDTH | 1,816 mm |
| HEIGHT | 1,513 mm |
| WHEELBASE | 2,599 mm |
| CARGO VOLUME | 441 L (1,240 L seats folded) |
| KERB WEIGHT (EU, no driver) | From 1,540 kg (VW preliminary data, May 2026) |
| TOW BAR | Optional, detachable, 75 kg nose weight |
Charging & Battery
The ID. Polo GTI uses only the larger of the two ID. Polo battery options, a nickel-manganese-cobalt (NMC) pack with 52 kWh of net energy. The cheaper 37 kWh lithium-iron-phosphate pack of the standard ID. Polo is not offered on the GTI. At a DC fast charger the car accepts up to 105 kW and, thanks to what VW calls a constant charging curve, takes around 24 minutes to go from 10 to 80 percent. AC charging is up to 11 kW, according to VW's May 2026 data sheet, and the German outlet electrive puts a full AC charge at about 5.5 hours. The navigation system includes the VW e-route planner, which plans charging stops along a route automatically.
As a sanity check, 52 kWh net divided by 431 km gives about 12.1 kWh/100 km at the battery, while the official WLTP consumption of 14.2 kWh/100 km at the best case is about 18 percent higher, which is in line with charging losses measured at the wall. At the other end of the official range, 15.7 kWh/100 km would work out to roughly 331 km from a full pack, so the real-world range with 19-inch wheels and an enthusiastic right foot will sit well below the 431 km headline figure.
| BATTERY | 52 kWh net (NMC) |
|---|---|
| AC CHARGING | 11 kW (VW data sheet, May 2026) |
| DC FAST CHARGING | Up to 105 kW |
| DC 10-80% TIME | Around 24 min |
Design & Interior
Volkswagen has given the car the standard GTI visual cues, reinterpreted for an electric hatchback. A red stripe runs along the front and the typical honeycomb pattern sits in the lower intake, and the car is fitted with IQ.LIGHT LED matrix headlights, illuminated Volkswagen logos at the front and rear, a split roof-edge spoiler and the three GTI letters on the front, rear and side sills. Standard 19-inch light-alloy wheels fill the arches, and a specially developed 19-inch premium sports tyre is available as an option. VW's May 2026 data sheet lists six colours: Candy White and Tornado Red as solid paints, and Grenadilla Black, Magnetic Grey, Oyster Silver and Celestial Blue as metallics. The press photos show a red car with a light bar running across the front.
Inside, the top sports seats are standard, with covers that carry the traditional GTI check pattern, and red contrasting stitching and a red 12 o'clock marking on the sports steering wheel complete the look. A 10.25-inch Digital Cockpit and a 12.9-inch central infotainment display sit on one visual axis. For nostalgia, an optional retro display shows instrument graphics in the style of a late Golf I, and the music player shows the current track as a cassette. Options include a panoramic glass sunroof, 12-way electrically adjustable front seats with a pneumatic massage function and a 425 W Harman Kardon sound system.
Technology & Features
The digital cockpit is the technological centre of the car, and VW has built the GTI driving profile around it: one press on the steering-wheel button changes the cockpit colours and graphics at the same time as it sharpens the drivetrain, steering and suspension. The navigation includes the e-route planner for charging stops. Volkswagen offers the new generation of Connected Travel Assist as an option. Within its system limits it assists with steering and speed control, can recognise red traffic lights and can brake the ID. Polo GTI to a standstill. VW does not list a standard driver-assistance package in the pre-sale release, so buyers should check the German price list for what is included in the base car.
Safety & ADAS
The pre-sale release names only one driver-assistance feature, the optional Connected Travel Assist, and does not give an SAE level or a list of standard safety systems. The regular ID. Polo ships from the Life grade with adaptive cruise control, front cross-traffic assist, lane assist and front parking sensors, but Volkswagen has not said which of these carry over to the GTI, and no Euro NCAP rating has been published for the GTI. Until VW releases the equipment list, the safety content of the base car is not confirmed.
| ADAS LEVEL | Not stated by VW |
|---|---|
| ADAS FEATURES | Optional Connected Travel Assist (lateral and longitudinal guidance, red-light detection, can brake to a standstill); standard safety equipment not itemised in the pre-sale release |
Available Versions
| VERSION | POWER | TORQUE | 0-100 | TOP SPEED | DRIVETRAIN | BATTERY | EV RANGE | COMBINED RANGE | PRICE | KEY DIFFERENCES |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ID. Polo GTI | 223 hp | 290 Nm | 6.8s | 190 km/h | FWD | 52 kWh | 431 km | — | €39,995 | 166 kW (226 PS), 105 kW DC, front-axle differential lock, DCC, 19-inch wheels |
Pricing & Availability
Pre-sale opened on 7 October 2026, and Volkswagen lists the ID. Polo GTI from €39,995, with the note that equipment specifications and prices refer to the German market and may differ in other countries. Press reports put that about €1,000 above the figure of just under €39,000 that was expected after the May reveal. According to the German outlet electrive, VW's own ID. Kaufpraemie lowers the price for private and business customers to €36,995 until the end of 2026; this is reported by one outlet and is not mentioned in the VW press release, while another outlet (PCWelt) reads the EUR 39,995 as already net of a EUR 3,000 bonus, so confirm the final price in the VW configurator. Volkswagen gave no market launch or delivery date, and no price outside Germany. The cheaper ID. Polo hatchback is already on sale, so the GTI sits about €6,200 above the €33,795 ID. Polo Life with the same 52 kWh battery.
How It Compares
The closest comparison is inside Volkswagen's own range. The ID. Polo Life shares the 52 kWh battery and a 155 kW (211 PS, about 208 hp) motor, and VW quotes up to 454 km for it at €33,795, so the GTI's extra 15 hp, front-axle differential lock, DCC suspension and 19-inch wheels cost about €6,200 more and take about 23 km off the best-case range. The entry-level ID. Polo Trend starts at €24,995 with 114 hp and up to 334 km, so the GTI costs about €15,000 more but has nearly twice the power. The bigger ID.3 GTI is a different class of car: VW's near-production concept has 240 kW (326 PS, about 322 hp) driving the rear wheels, up to 601 km WLTP on a 79 kWh net battery and pre-sales planned for early 2027, but no price has been announced. The Polo GTI is therefore the entry point to the electric GTI family, and its best argument is its size. The comparison figures come from VW's own releases and our own coverage of each car.
- 166 kW (223 hp), 290 Nm and 0-100 km/h in 6.8 seconds from a compact front-drive hatchback, with a front-axle differential lock and adaptive DCC suspension as standard
- Up to 431 km WLTP and 105 kW DC charging with 10-80% in around 24 minutes
- 441 L boot (1,240 L folded), 90 L more than the petrol Polo GTI, and a distinctive GTI interior with check-pattern seats and a retro display option
- At €39,995 it costs about €6,200 more than the 208 hp ID. Polo Life, which has the same battery and a longer 454 km range
- The 190 km/h top speed is limited, and the 431 km WLTP figure is a best case: the EV Database shows 390 km for heavier equipment
The ID. Polo GTI is a convincing first electric GTI on paper: 223 hp, a front-axle differential lock, adaptive suspension and a dedicated GTI mode in a compact car that has more boot than the petrol Polo GTI. A 431 km WLTP range and 105 kW charging are enough for everyday use, though neither stands out against rivals with larger batteries. The €39,995 price leaves little margin against the cheaper ID. Polo Life, and the lack of a delivery date or a driving test means the real verdict has to wait. Buyers who want a small, quick and practical hot hatch should put it on their shortlist; those who care mainly about range or price will find the regular ID. Polo the better deal.

