The Deepal S07 AI Laser Edition is the battery-electric version of Changan Deepal's mid-size SUV, and it went on sale in China on 28 September 2026 at the event marking the brand's one-millionth vehicle. It is a rear-drive BEV with a rear motor rated at 190 kW (about 255 hp) and 290 Nm, a CATL battery in two sizes, and an 800-volt platform that Deepal says charges at up to 6C. The longest-range trim claims 725 km on the Chinese CLTC cycle, the standard one 600 km. The official guide price starts at CNY 155,900 (about $23,250 at 6.7048 yuan to the dollar), and a limited-time promotional price starts at CNY 149,900 (about $22,360). A roof-mounted lidar and 27 sensors back a new "AI Laser" driver-assistance system, and the cabin adds a Doubao large-model voice assistant, a 15.6-inch screen and a 55-inch AR-HUD. This article covers the battery-electric trims only; the range-extended S07 is a different car with its own figures.
Performance & Specs
All four trims of the S07 AI Laser Edition are single-motor, rear-wheel-drive BEVs. Launch-day coverage from IT Home, Phoenix Tech and 17173 lists the rear motor at a maximum of 190 kW (about 255 hp, from kW x 1.341) and a peak torque of 290 Nm. Deepal calls the unit a silicon-carbide electric drive, and Science and Technology Daily's report from the same event quotes the drive at 210 kW (about 282 hp) with a 0-100 km/h time of 6.8 seconds. The two power figures do not agree, so this article uses the lower 190 kW figure that most launch reports print and treats 210 kW and 6.8 seconds as Deepal's own event claims that the final specification sheet has to settle. Top speed was not stated in any launch report.
Because the battery is the real difference between the trims, the sensible way to read the lineup is by range. The two "600" trims carry a 66.02 kWh CATL pack and are rated at 600 km CLTC, which works out to about 11.0 kWh per 100 km (66.02 divided by 6.00). The two "725" trims carry an 86.7 kWh pack and are rated at 725 km CLTC, or about 12.0 kWh per 100 km. Both figures are battery-to-wheel on the optimistic CLTC cycle, so real-world consumption in mixed driving will be higher. The kWh numbers come from third-party coverage of the launch, because the launch reports we read quote only the range and the cell supplier; 17173's launch report likewise gives 66 and 86 kWh.
Deepal also fits an adaptive FSD+HRS variable suspension as standard on every trim, with MacPherson struts at the front and a multi-link H-arm layout at the rear, according to the launch coverage, and 20-inch wheels appear in the official press imagery. Deepal markets the whole package under the line "6789", for 6C charging, 725 km, 800V and 9 minutes.
| Powertrain | Single-motor rear-wheel-drive BEV, 800V platform |
|---|---|
| Power | 190 kW (255 hp); Deepal event claim 210 kW (282 hp) |
| Torque | 290 Nm |
| 0–100 km/h | 6.8 s (Deepal event claim) |
| Battery | 86.7 kWh CATL (725 trims) / 66.02 kWh (600 trims) |
| Range | 725 km CLTC / 600 km CLTC |
| POWERTRAIN TYPE | BEV (battery-electric), single rear motor, no engine |
|---|---|
| HORSEPOWER | 190 kW (255 hp); Deepal event claim 210 kW (282 hp) |
| TORQUE | 290 Nm |
| ACCELERATION | 0-100 km/h in 6.8 s (Deepal event claim) |
| TOP SPEED | Not stated |
| DRIVETRAIN | RWD, single rear motor |
| BATTERY | 66.02 kWh (600 trims) / 86.7 kWh (725 trims), CATL; gross or usable not stated |
| ELECTRIC RANGE | 600 km / up to 725 km CLTC |
| COMBINED RANGE | Not applicable (BEV) |
Dimensions & Practicality
| Length | 4,750 mm |
|---|---|
| Width | 1,930 mm |
| Height | 1,625 mm |
| Wheelbase | 2,900 mm |
| Seats | 5 |
The S07 measures 4,750 mm long, 1,930 mm wide and 1,625 mm tall on a 2,900 mm wheelbase, which puts it in the mid-size SUV class, 75 mm shorter than a Zeekr 7X (4,825 mm). Deepal's own dimension slide notes a height-to-width ratio of 0.842 and a wheelbase-to-length ratio of 0.611, a way of saying the car is low and long for an SUV, with wheels pushed to the corners. It has five doors and five seats.
The launch reports we read do not publish luggage volume, kerb weight or ground clearance for the AI Laser Edition, so those rows are left out rather than borrowed from other versions of the S07. Deepal does say the cabin uses 10.7 square metres of microfibre suede-style upholstery, and the front seats are two-position "zero gravity" units with heating and massage, with heating in the rear seats as well.
| LENGTH | 4,750 mm |
|---|---|
| WIDTH | 1,930 mm |
| HEIGHT | 1,625 mm |
| WHEELBASE | 2,900 mm |
| SEATS | 5 |
| WHEELS | 20-inch alloy wheels shown in press imagery |
Charging & Battery
Charging is the headline change. The S07 AI Laser Edition moves to an 800-volt high-voltage platform and a peak charge rate of 6C on every trim, and Deepal says nine minutes on a compatible charger adds almost 400 km of range. As a plausibility check, 6C on the 86.7 kWh pack is a theoretical peak near 520 kW, and 400 km at roughly 12 kWh per 100 km means about 48 kWh, which would be 55 percent of the pack in nine minutes, so the claim only holds for the big battery in ideal conditions. A Sina Auto explainer that tabulates the two packs gives about 330 km in nine minutes for the 600 trim and about 400 km for the 725 trim, and puts 10 to 80 percent at around 15 minutes; this is a single secondary source, so treat the 330 km figure as unconfirmed.
The cells come from CATL on all trims. Deepal describes the pack as the "Golden Bell" battery and, at the launch event, said its battery management system keeps cell temperature sensing within 3 degrees Celsius and can slow degradation by up to 1.5 percent while charging. The company also cites a cycle life of more than 5,000 cycles and no thermal-runaway incidents across its first million vehicles. AC charging power and the DC peak in kilowatts were not published in the launch reports.
| BATTERY | 66.02 kWh (600 trims) / 86.7 kWh (725 trims), CATL |
|---|---|
| CLTC CONSUMPTION | About 11.0 kWh/100 km (600) / about 12.0 kWh/100 km (725), calculated from battery size and range |
| VOLTAGE | 800V platform |
| DC FAST CHARGING | 6C peak; nearly 400 km in 9 minutes (Deepal claim) |
| DC 10-80% TIME | About 15 minutes (Sina Auto explainer, single source) |
Design & Interior
The S07 keeps the shape that has carried the nameplate since 2024: a smooth, low-roof crossover with a glossy contrasting black roof, flush-looking semi-concealed door handles and a thin light bar above a pair of headlamp clusters that Deepal calls the Star River group. Press images show a deep, almost shooting-brake roofline and 20-inch wheels with blade-style spokes, plus a yellow launch colour with a black roof. The new element is a small lidar housing on the roof edge above the windscreen, which is the most obvious external difference from a non-lidar S07.
Inside, the press imagery shows a wide, low dashboard with a floating 15.6-inch 2.5K centre screen, a separate driver display, and a small animated robot-face widget on top of the dashboard that acts as the face of the AI assistant. The seats shown are in a wine-purple perforated leather finish, and the ambient lighting is tied into the voice assistant, with a "Galaxy rhythm" light strip across the dashboard, floating-light speaker grilles and a wireless phone charger with breathing-light effects. A camera on the A-pillar handles face login and driver monitoring.
Technology & Features
The infotainment runs on a Qualcomm Snapdragon 8295P with a 15.6-inch 2.5K screen and a 55-inch AR head-up display. The headline software feature is the integration of ByteDance's Doubao model, developed with Volcano Engine, as an open-domain assistant: Deepal says simple commands such as climate or windows run on the car, while complex tasks such as trip planning run in the cloud. The assistant also offers voiceprint recognition that remembers each passenger's preferences, recognises more than ten emotional states and includes a child mode. Chairman Deng Chenghao said the car is "not a traditional command-based head unit" but one that understands the scene and acts in one step. As with any assistant of this kind, the claims are Deepal's own and have yet to be tested by independent drivers.
Safety & ADAS
The "AI Laser" driver-assistance system combines one roof-mounted lidar, three 4D millimetre-wave radars, eleven high-definition cameras and twelve ultrasonic sensors, for 27 sensors in total, with a one-stage end-to-end algorithm and what Deepal calls a world behaviour model. The system covers urban and highway navigation assistance, and urban scenarios named in the launch reports include roundabouts, unprotected left turns, narrow-road passing, U-turns and mixed pedestrian traffic, while the highway mode handles ramp entry and exit, lane changes and speed adjustment. Parking assistance covers very narrow spaces, dead ends and wall-side spaces, with remote parking and reverse-along-a-stored-path functions.
The S07 AI Laser Edition also has 24 active safety functions, including emergency braking for irregular obstacles ahead and a road-adaptive AEB, both delivered as OTA updates. Deepal's April 2026 S07 Huawei Qiankun Laser Edition used Huawei's ADS 4 Pro enhanced system with the same sensor count; the launch coverage of this edition that we read does not name the system's supplier, so that point is left open. No Euro NCAP or C-NCAP result for this version was found.
| ADAS LEVEL | Level 2+ assisted driving (Deepal "AI Laser" system, urban and highway navigation assist) |
|---|---|
| SENSORS | 27: 1 roof lidar, 3 4D millimetre-wave radars, 11 HD cameras, 12 ultrasonic sensors |
| ADAS FEATURES | Urban and highway navigation assist, remote and automatic parking, emergency braking for irregular obstacles (OTA), road-adaptive AEB (OTA), driver monitoring camera, 24 active safety functions |
Available Versions
| VERSION | POWER | TORQUE | 0-100 | TOP SPEED | DRIVETRAIN | BATTERY | EV RANGE | COMBINED RANGE | PRICE | KEY DIFFERENCES |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 600 Zhixing AI Laser | 255 hp | 290 Nm | — | — | RWD | 66.02 kWh | 600 km | — | CNY 155,900 | Entry trim, CNY 149,900 limited-time price (about $22,360); guide price about $23,250 |
| 600 Zhizhen AI Laser | 255 hp | 290 Nm | — | — | RWD | 66.02 kWh | 600 km | — | CNY 165,900 | Higher equipment grade; CNY 159,900 limited-time price (about $23,850) |
| 725 Zhixing AI Laser | 255 hp | 290 Nm | — | — | RWD | 86.7 kWh | 725 km | — | CNY 165,900 | Long-range battery; CNY 159,900 limited-time price (about $23,850); guide price about $24,740 |
| 725 Zhizhen AI Laser | 255 hp | 290 Nm | — | — | RWD | 86.7 kWh | 725 km | — | CNY 175,900 | Top trim; CNY 169,900 limited-time price (about $25,340); guide price about $26,230 |
Pricing & Availability
The official guide prices announced on 28 September 2026 are CNY 155,900 for the 600 Zhixing, CNY 165,900 for both the 600 Zhizhen and the 725 Zhixing, and CNY 175,900 for the 725 Zhizhen. At the ECB reference rate of 1 USD = 6.7048 CNY on 6 October 2026 that is about $23,250, $24,740 and $26,230. Deepal's launch slide also lists a limited-time benefit price for each trim: CNY 149,900, CNY 159,900, CNY 159,900 and CNY 169,900, or about $22,360, $23,850, $23,850 and $25,340. The limited-time price is CNY 6,000 below guide on every trim. The offer applies to orders created before 24:00 on 31 October 2026 and cars delivered before 24:00 on 31 December 2026, so it is active as of 9 October 2026. Deepal also says buyers can receive up to CNY 57,860 in purchase benefits, as reported by Phoenix Tech.
The CCR video above quotes a price near $23,000 for the car, which is close to the entry guide price of CNY 155,900 (about $23,250), so it is a converted domestic China price and not an export or FOB figure. The car is on sale in China now. CnEVPost reports that Changan will bring the S07 and S05 to the Paris Motor Show, 12 to 18 October 2026 (Hall 7.1), but the launch coverage does not say that the AI Laser Edition itself is the one being shown, and neither Changan nor Deepal has announced European pricing or an export date for it. Export versions of the S07 sold in other markets use different batteries, charging systems and ranges, so the 725 km and 6C figures here are Chinese-market specifications.
How It Compares
The closest comparison is the S07's own range-extended sibling, covered separately on freshmotors.net: the EREV makes 268 hp and quotes 1,384 km combined from a smaller battery plus an engine generator for about $21,000 in China, while the BEV spends the extra money on a bigger battery and an 800-volt platform for fast charging, so the choice is really between never worrying about range on a long trip and never visiting a petrol station. Against the Zeekr 7X, which has 496 hp, 802 km CLTC and starts from $24,400 in China, the Deepal gives up a lot of power and range but costs about the same at the base level, though the Zeekr's power and range figures are for its Max trim. The BYD Yuan Plus 630km Flagship at $22,000 has more power at 322 hp and 630 km CLTC, but is a smaller car, 4,665 mm long against 4,750 mm for the S07, with a shorter 2,770 mm wheelbase. All figures are Chinese-market numbers and the CLTC cycle, so they are comparable with each other but not with WLTP or EPA ranges.
- Up to 725 km CLTC from an 86.7 kWh CATL battery, with an 800V platform and 6C peak charging that Deepal says adds nearly 400 km in nine minutes
- Lidar-based AI Laser driver assistance with 27 sensors is standard on all four trims, starting at CNY 155,900 (about $23,250)
- Large mid-size body at 4,750 mm long with a 2,900 mm wheelbase, adaptive suspension on every trim and a Doubao-powered voice assistant
- Single rear motor with 190 kW (255 hp) is modest next to rivals in the same price band, and no top speed or confirmed 0-100 time has been published
- Battery capacities, power and the 0-100 figure are not consistent across launch reports, and the CLTC range is optimistic compared with WLTP or real-world use
The Deepal S07 AI Laser Edition turns a familiar mid-size SUV into a fast-charging, long-range BEV for about $23,000 to $26,000 at China's official guide prices. The 725 km CLTC range, 800-volt charging and a lidar-based driver-assistance package standard on every trim are the main attractions, and the limited-time prices make the entry trim even sharper until 31 October. The compromises are a single 255 hp motor, a promised charging speed that is best on the biggest battery only, and a specification sheet that still has gaps. It is a strong buy for Chinese family buyers who value range and fast charging over outright performance.

