The Opel Frontera Electric is Opel's affordable family SUV with a battery-electric drivetrain (BEV): a front-wheel-drive car with 83 kW (113 PS, about 111 hp), five seats, a 460-litre boot and a choice of two lithium iron phosphate (LFP) batteries, 44 kWh gross (43 kWh net) or 54 kWh gross (52 kWh net) in the Extended Range version. On 20 August 2026 Opel added a Start trim to the Frontera line-up, which also brings an entry-level electric version, the Frontera Electric Start, at EUR 29,340 in Germany. Opel's German price list of 17 August 2026 now shows seven electric versions between EUR 29,340 and EUR 36,040 including 19 percent VAT. Range is 304-307 km WLTP with the 44 kWh battery and 394-400 km WLTP with the 54 kWh battery, and DC charging peaks at about 100 kW. The car is a practical, inexpensive family SUV rather than a performance model, and the Frontera range also includes a petrol model and a 48-volt mild hybrid (MHEV) that are not covered here.
Performance & Specs
A single electric motor on the front axle drives the front wheels and is rated at 83 kW (113 PS, about 111 hp) with 125 Nm of torque. Opel's English-language releases print the output as 113 hp, but that is the metric figure (PS); converted to imperial horsepower, 83 kW is about 111 hp, which is the number used in this article. Performance is relaxed rather than quick: Opel's German price list gives 0 to 100 km/h in 12.8 seconds for the 44 kWh car and 14.2 seconds for the heavier 54 kWh car, and the top speed is electronically limited to 143 km/h in both. The Extended Range car also gets an Aerofin roof spoiler, which the price list says is fitted only in combination with that battery.
The larger battery adds weight. Opel's price list shows an EU kerb weight including the driver of 1,573 kg for the 44 kWh car and 1,610 kg for the Extended Range car, with gross vehicle weights of 2,030 kg and 2,070 kg. Combined WLTP consumption is 18.3 kWh/100 km for the 44 kWh version and 16.3 kWh/100 km for the 54 kWh version, so the bigger pack is also the more efficient one. Both are rated for a 350 kg trailer (braked or unbraked), and the roof can carry 240 kg when the car is stationary (75 kg while driving), which Opel promotes for roof-top tents.
| Powertrain | Single-motor FWD BEV |
|---|---|
| Power | 83 kW (113 PS / 111 hp) |
| Torque | 125 Nm |
| 0–100 km/h | 12.8 s (44 kWh) / 14.2 s (54 kWh) |
| Battery | 44 kWh gross / 43 kWh net or 54 kWh gross / 52 kWh net (LFP) |
| Range | 304-307 km / 394-400 km WLTP |
| POWERTRAIN TYPE | Battery electric (BEV), single motor |
|---|---|
| HORSEPOWER | 83 kW (113 PS / 111 hp) |
| TORQUE | 125 Nm |
| ACCELERATION | 0-100 km/h in 12.8 s (44 kWh); 14.2 s (54 kWh) |
| TOP SPEED | 143 km/h (electronically limited) |
| DRIVETRAIN | FWD |
| BATTERY | 44 kWh gross / 43 kWh net or 54 kWh gross / 52 kWh net (LFP) |
| WLTP RANGE | 304-307 km (44 kWh); 394-400 km (54 kWh) |
| WLTP CONSUMPTION | 18.3 kWh/100 km (44 kWh); 16.3 kWh/100 km (54 kWh) |
Dimensions & Practicality
| Length | 4,385 mm |
|---|---|
| Width | 1,795 mm (2,020 mm with mirrors) |
| Height | 1,635 mm |
| Wheelbase | 2,670 mm |
| Boot | 460 L / about 1,600 L seats folded |
The Frontera is a compact SUV, 4,385 mm long, 1,795 mm wide without mirrors and 1,635 mm high, with a wheelbase of 2,670 mm in Opel's price list. The boot holds 460 litres behind the rear seats and about 1,600 litres with the 60:40 split rear bench folded, and the upright sides and rear window are meant to give the second row generous space. The electric Frontera is a five-seater only: the seven-seat package that Opel sells on the Frontera Hybrid is marked as not available for the Electric in the price list. The front seats are Opel's patented Intelli-Seats with a central recess that relieves pressure on the tailbone, and the Start trim has a six-way manually adjustable driver seat.
| LENGTH | 4,385 mm |
|---|---|
| WIDTH | 1,795 mm (2,020 mm with mirrors extended) |
| HEIGHT | 1,635 mm |
| WHEELBASE | 2,670 mm |
| CARGO VOLUME | 460 L (about 1,600 L seats folded) |
| SEATS | 5 |
| KERB WEIGHT (EU, incl. driver) | 1,573 kg (44 kWh); 1,610 kg (54 kWh) |
Charging & Battery
Both batteries use LFP chemistry. The 44 kWh pack offers 43 kWh net and the Extended Range pack 52 kWh net, according to Opel's 20 August 2026 press release. Opel's price list rates the car at about 100 kW on a public DC charger, which takes 26 minutes from 20 to 80 percent with the small battery and 28 minutes with the large one, and 11 kW three-phase AC charging is standard. On an 11 kW wallbox the 20 to 80 percent stop takes about 2 hours 50 minutes (44 kWh) or 3 hours 25 minutes (54 kWh), and on a single-phase 7.4 kW wallbox about 4 hours 10 minutes or 5 hours 5 minutes.
The quoted range depends on where and when it is read. Opel announced the Extended Range at up to 408 km WLTP in July 2025, a June 2026 clip on Opel's YouTube channel (the one embedded above) calls the long-range model the Frontera Long Range and cites a 406 km range, and the German price list of August 2026 shows 394-400 km, which is the figure used here. The 44 kWh car is listed at 304-307 km. Opel's Electric All In programme, which comes with every new electric Opel, includes an eight-year or 160,000 km battery warranty that guarantees at least 70 percent of the original capacity, eight years of breakdown service and mobile charging assistance, and a charging pass that covers 96 percent of public charging stations in Europe. The eProWallbox Move home charger that was bundled with the programme carries an offer date of 31 March 2026 in the price list, so buyers should ask a dealer whether any equivalent offer is running.
| BATTERY | 44 kWh gross / 43 kWh net or 54 kWh gross / 52 kWh net (LFP) |
|---|---|
| AC CHARGING | 11 kW three-phase standard; 20-80% in about 2 h 50 min (44 kWh) or 3 h 25 min (54 kWh) |
| DC FAST CHARGING | About 100 kW (CCS) |
| DC 20-80% TIME | About 26 min (44 kWh); about 28 min (54 kWh) |
Design & Interior
Every Frontera carries the Opel Vizor front end with the new Blitz emblem, pronounced wheel arches and sills and an eye-catching C-pillar that give a deliberately rugged look. Start and Edition ride on 16-inch steel wheels with black covers, while GS and Ultimate have 17-inch diamond-cut alloy wheels and a Carbon Black roof. Inside, the cockpit is built around two 10-inch screens in the Edition and above, with a flexible rear bench with retaining straps and smartphone pockets in the seat backs. The Start version replaces the central touchscreen with a smartphone station on the centre console, which turns the driver's own phone into the infotainment screen.
The official press photos show the car in orange and red, and they emphasise the upright body, the short overhangs and the near-vertical tailgate with the FRONTERA lettering across it.
Technology & Features
Connectivity is handled by the Free2move Charge and myOpel apps, and Opel's e-Routes planner works out charging stops from the car's battery state. The Edition adds a multimedia system with a 10-inch touchscreen and wireless smartphone integration, the GS adds keyless entry and start, and the Ultimate adds navigation together with a Winter pack and a Tech pack according to the price list. The Start trim has rear parking sensors, the Edition adds a 130-degree rear-view camera, and the GS and Ultimate add front sensors. Opel's connected-services table does not list over-the-air software updates or remote locking for the Frontera, so the car is closer to a simple everyday EV than to a software-defined one.
Safety & ADAS
Opel's price list shows a standard safety package on every trim: front and side airbags, automatic emergency braking with pedestrian detection, lane keeping assist, speed sign recognition limited to speed signs, a driver attention warning with a driver monitoring camera, an intelligent speed limiter, hill-start assist, ISOFIX anchors at the rear and an emergency call system. The emergency braking works at 5 to 85 km/h against moving objects, 5 to 80 km/h against stationary ones and 5 to 60 km/h against pedestrians. Opel does not state an SAE automation level for the car and the price list does not list adaptive cruise control or a blind-spot monitor, so the assistance content is a basic one.
| ADAS LEVEL | Not stated by Opel |
|---|---|
| ADAS FEATURES | Automatic emergency braking with pedestrian detection, lane keeping assist, speed sign recognition (speed only), driver attention warning with monitoring camera, intelligent speed limiter, hill-start assist, rear parking sensors (rear camera from Edition, front sensors from GS), emergency call |
Available Versions
| VERSION | POWER | TORQUE | 0-100 | TOP SPEED | DRIVETRAIN | BATTERY | EV RANGE | COMBINED RANGE | PRICE | KEY DIFFERENCES |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Frontera Electric Start | 111 hp | 125 Nm | 12.8s | 143 km/h | FWD | 44 kWh | 304-307 km | — | €29,340 | Entry trim added August 2026; 16-inch steel wheels, 10-inch driver display, smartphone station instead of a touchscreen |
| Frontera Electric Edition | 111 hp | 125 Nm | 12.8s | 143 km/h | FWD | 44 kWh | 304-307 km | — | €30,840 | Adds the 10-inch touchscreen with wireless CarPlay and Android Auto and a rear-view camera |
| Frontera Electric GS | 111 hp | 125 Nm | 12.8s | 143 km/h | FWD | 44 kWh | 304-307 km | — | €33,090 | 17-inch alloy wheels, Carbon Black roof, keyless entry, front parking sensors |
| Frontera Electric Ultimate | 111 hp | 125 Nm | 12.8s | 143 km/h | FWD | 44 kWh | 304-307 km | — | €34,040 | Adds navigation, Winter pack and Tech pack |
| Frontera Electric Extended Range Edition | 111 hp | 125 Nm | 14.2s | 143 km/h | FWD | 54 kWh | 394-400 km | — | €33,040 | Larger battery, 16.3 kWh/100 km, 28 min DC 20-80%, Aerofin roof spoiler |
| Frontera Electric Extended Range GS | 111 hp | 125 Nm | 14.2s | 143 km/h | FWD | 54 kWh | 394-400 km | — | €35,090 | GS equipment with the 54 kWh battery |
| Frontera Electric Extended Range Ultimate | 111 hp | 125 Nm | 14.2s | 143 km/h | FWD | 54 kWh | 394-400 km | — | €36,040 | Top equipment with the 54 kWh battery |
Pricing & Availability
Opel's German price list of 17 August 2026 gives recommended retail prices including 19 percent VAT and excluding delivery charges. With the 44 kWh battery the Frontera Electric costs EUR 29,340 in Start, EUR 30,840 in Edition, EUR 33,090 in GS and EUR 34,040 in Ultimate, and with the 54 kWh Extended Range battery EUR 33,040, EUR 35,090 and EUR 36,040 for Edition, GS and Ultimate, so the bigger battery adds EUR 2,200 on the Edition and EUR 2,000 on the GS and the Ultimate. The Extended Range is not offered in the Start trim. For comparison, the Frontera Electric Edition was announced at EUR 28,990 in July 2024 and the Extended Range at EUR 31,190 in July 2025, and the Frontera Hybrid, a 48-volt mild hybrid (MHEV) that cannot be plugged in, starts at EUR 24,540 in the same list.
The electric Frontera is also on sale outside Germany. In the UK it is sold as the Vauxhall Frontera Electric with up to 186 miles (44 kWh) and 253 miles (54 kWh) WLTP, and EV Powered reported in October 2025 that the Government's Electric Car Grant takes GBP 1,500 off the price; no current Vauxhall price list could be read. In Italy the launch prices of July 2025, according to Motor1, were EUR 29,900 and EUR 31,900 for the 44 kWh Edition and GS and EUR 31,900 and EUR 33,900 for the Extended Range, and in Spain the Extended Range was listed at EUR 27,000 before incentives, so those figures may have moved since. In Israel an electric Frontera has not been confirmed: the mild hybrid went on sale in September 2025 at about NIS 145,000 for five seats, and iCar wrote then that a five-seat electric version with a theoretical range of about 400 km would follow in 2026, but no Israeli electric price or launch was found as of October 2026.
How It Compares
The Frontera Electric sits in the middle of this group on price. The Leapmotor B03X, a smaller 4,270 mm crossover, is listed at EUR 24,900 for the 39.8 kWh Life with 181 hp and 292 km WLTP, and at EUR 29,400 for the 53 kWh Design with 194 hp and 382 km, so it undercuts the Frontera Electric Start by EUR 4,440 and the Extended Range Edition by EUR 3,640 while offering 70 to 83 hp more power. The Kia EV3 starts at EUR 35,990 in Germany with 201 hp and 438 km WLTP from its 58.3 kWh battery, which is EUR 2,950 more than the Extended Range Edition for 90 hp more and roughly 40 km more range. The Hyundai Kona Electric, EUR 38,340 for 133 hp and 380 km WLTP in its 49 kWh Select version, is the most expensive here, and its 49 kWh entry version is beaten on range by the Frontera Extended Range Edition by about 15 to 20 km, for EUR 5,300 less. The Opel's advantages are its simple controls and a price that undercuts the Kia and Hyundai, and its weak points are power, charging speed and a basic assistance package. Rival figures are German list prices and WLTP ranges taken from our own articles on each car, except the B03X, which is Leapmotor's European launch pricing.
- Opel Germany prices the Electric from EUR 29,340, and the 54 kWh Extended Range with 394-400 km WLTP starts at EUR 33,040, below the EUR 35,990 Kia EV3
- Practical body: 460 L boot, about 1,600 L with the rear bench folded, five seats and a 240 kg roof load for a compact 4,385 mm SUV
- LFP battery with an eight-year or 160,000 km warranty, 11 kW three-phase AC as standard and 26-28 minutes for 20 to 80 percent at 100 kW
- Only 83 kW (111 hp) and 125 Nm, so 0-100 km/h takes 12.8 s (44 kWh) or 14.2 s (54 kWh) and the top speed is 143 km/h
- Basic equipment: the Start trim has no touchscreen, there is no over-the-air update and no adaptive cruise control is listed in the price list, while the 44 kWh car manages only 304-307 km WLTP
The Frontera Electric is a sensible rather than exciting electric SUV: it offers a 460-litre boot, five seats, an LFP battery that the buyer can choose in 44 or 54 kWh, and a German price from EUR 29,340 that is lower than the Kia EV3 or Hyundai Kona Electric. The compromises are a 111 hp motor, a 143 km/h top speed, 100 kW charging and a thin assistance package, and the 44 kWh version is realistically a city and commuter car at 304-307 km WLTP. We would skip the Start and the 44 kWh batteries for anyone who drives beyond town, and put the money into the Extended Range Edition at EUR 33,040, which is the version that makes the most sense as a family car.

