The Volkswagen ID. UNYX 09 is a five-metre, battery-electric (BEV) fastback sedan from Volkswagen Anhui, the company's Chinese joint venture, and it is the second model the company has developed together with Xpeng after the ID. UNYX 08 SUV. Pre-sales opened in China on 24 September 2026 at RMB 199,900 (about $29,800 at the ECB rate of 6.7048 yuan per dollar) for the single-motor rear-wheel-drive version, rising to RMB 249,900 (about $37,300) for the dual-motor all-wheel-drive version. Both use a CATL lithium iron phosphate (LFP) battery of 91.963 kWh, and Volkswagen claims up to 755 km of CLTC range, 5C fast charging and 10 to 80 percent in under 12 minutes. The car carries Xpeng's 750 TOPS Turing chip for its VLA-based driver assistance and an 85-inch-equivalent augmented-reality head-up display. Volkswagen Anhui started series production on the day pre-sales opened and plans the official market launch for the end of October 2026, so the pre-sale prices are not yet final retail prices.
Performance & Specs
The entry version has a single permanent-magnet motor on the rear axle with a peak output of 230 kW (about 308 hp). The dual-motor all-wheel-drive version keeps the 230 kW rear motor and adds a 140 kW (about 188 hp) motor on the front axle, which adds up to 370 kW (about 496 hp) of combined peak motor output. The figures come from the Chinese Ministry of Industry and Information Technology (MIIT) filing published in July 2026, and Volkswagen's pre-sale material repeats the 370 kW system number for the AWD car. Kilowatt figures are converted to horsepower here at 1.341 hp per kW. The MIIT filing lists a top speed of 200 km/h and a kerb weight of 2,207 kg for the single-motor car and 2,307 kg for the dual-motor car, with a gross vehicle weight of 2,660 kg and 2,760 kg respectively.
Volkswagen has not published torque or an official 0 to 100 km/h time for either version as of the pre-sale, and this article does not print an estimate for either number. According to one Chinese outlet (ifeng), both cars are built on an 800-volt silicon-carbide high-voltage platform. The chassis uses a double-wishbone front axle and a five-link rear axle, and the higher trims add dual-chamber air springs with a ride-height range of 100 mm, adaptive dampers and a predictive system that scans the road ahead. Volkswagen Anhui says the chassis was tuned by its own driving-dynamics team in China, and it lists 20 and 21-inch wheels and Brembo four-piston front calipers; fitment by trim is not stated.
| Powertrain | Single-motor RWD BEV (AWD: dual-motor) |
|---|---|
| Power | 230 kW (308 hp); AWD 370 kW (496 hp) |
| Top speed | 200 km/h (MIIT filing) |
| Battery | 91.963 kWh LFP (CATL) |
| Range | 755 km CLTC (RWD); 705 km CLTC (AWD) |
| DC charging | 5C, 10-80% in under 12 min |
| POWERTRAIN TYPE | Battery electric (BEV), single motor RWD or dual motor AWD |
|---|---|
| HORSEPOWER | RWD: 230 kW (308 hp); AWD: 140 kW front + 230 kW rear, 370 kW (496 hp) combined peak |
| TORQUE | Not published |
| ACCELERATION | 0-100 km/h not published |
| TOP SPEED | 200 km/h (MIIT filing) |
| DRIVETRAIN | RWD (single motor) or AWD (dual motor) |
| BATTERY | 91.963 kWh LFP, CATL (gross or usable not stated) |
| CLTC RANGE | 755 km (RWD); 705 km (AWD) |
| KERB WEIGHT (MIIT) | 2,207 kg (RWD); 2,307 kg (AWD) |
Dimensions & Practicality
| Length | 5,081 mm |
|---|---|
| Width | 1,980 mm |
| Height | 1,509 mm (1,526 mm on some versions) |
| Wheelbase | 3,030 mm |
| Boot | 481 L / 1,488 L seats folded |
At 5,081 mm long, 1,980 mm wide and 1,509 mm high on a 3,030 mm wheelbase, the ID. UNYX 09 is a large car: Volkswagen Anhui describes it as a mid-to-large sedan and says its wheelbase is the longest in its class. The MIIT filing lists the same length, width and wheelbase for both versions and gives the height as 1,509 mm or 1,526 mm depending on the configuration, without saying which option causes the difference. The boot holds 481 litres with the rear seats up and 1,488 litres with them folded, according to Volkswagen's own product page. The fastback roofline ends in a hatch-style opening, and the official press photos show a wide luggage opening that takes several suitcases.
| LENGTH | 5,081 mm |
|---|---|
| WIDTH | 1,980 mm |
| HEIGHT | 1,509 mm (1,526 mm on some versions) |
| WHEELBASE | 3,030 mm |
| CARGO VOLUME | 481 L (1,488 L seats folded) |
| BODY | Four-door fastback sedan |
Charging & Battery
All versions use the same 91.963 kWh LFP pack with CATL cells, and Volkswagen has not said whether that figure is gross or usable capacity. Chinese outlets quote Volkswagen's own charging claims: about 500 km of range added in 10 minutes, about 250 km in 5 minutes and a 10 to 80 percent charge that is often rounded to about 12 minutes, which Volkswagen's page and Gasgoo word as under 12 minutes. Volkswagen's product page gives a peak charging power of 530 kW and says the car has been tested against about 90 percent of the DC charger models in China. That peak is above the nominal 460 kW that a 5C rate would give on a 92 kWh pack, so it is likely best read as a short peak at a low state of charge rather than a sustained rate. No AC charging power has been published.
The range figures are measured on the CLTC cycle, which is more generous than the WLTP cycle used in Europe, so 755 km and 705 km should not be compared directly with European ratings. On those numbers the single-motor car works out at roughly 12.2 kWh per 100 km and the dual-motor car at roughly 13.0 kWh per 100 km on the CLTC cycle, which is a calculation from the battery size and range, not an official consumption figure. Volkswagen has not published a battery warranty for the 09 in the pre-sale material that was read for this article.
| BATTERY | 91.963 kWh LFP, CATL cells |
|---|---|
| ARCHITECTURE | 800 V silicon carbide (reported by ifeng only) |
| DC FAST CHARGING | 5C; peak 530 kW (Volkswagen product page) |
| DC 10-80% TIME | Under 12 min (Volkswagen product page; Gasgoo) |
| RANGE ADDED | About 500 km in 10 min; about 250 km in 5 min (claims) |

Design & Interior
The 09 is a GT-style fastback with a long bonnet, a low nose, a short front overhang and a tapering roofline. The front and rear light units contain 422 individually controllable LEDs that Volkswagen uses for interactive light animations, and the DLP matrix headlights can project a lane carpet and the car's width onto the road. An illuminated Volkswagen badge on the nose and a wolf-head motif on the front wings complete the styling. Four exterior colours are offered (Night Black, Morning White, Twilight Purple and Sea Blue), together with three interior colour schemes, a panoramic glass roof as an option and frameless doors.
Inside, the cabin is built around a floating central touchscreen, a slim instrument strip and the head-up display. The press photos show cream, grey and black upholstery with a gold accent line along the dashboard and doors. Volkswagen's product page lists integrated sport seats, a 12-way power driver seat with memory and pneumatic lumbar support, heated and ventilated front seats and a 10-point massage function for the driver, and Chinese press coverage says the more expensive trims also get an electrically reclining rear backrest. The page does not name which equipment belongs to which trim, so buyers should wait for the final configuration list before assuming any of it is standard.
Technology & Features
The cockpit runs on a Qualcomm Snapdragon 8295P chip, and the audio system is a 20-speaker UNYX SOUND setup in a 7.1.4 layout with Dolby Atmos. The central screen carries an AI voice assistant, an app centre with Apple CarPlay support and navigation that is shown on the head-up display as well. The 85-inch-equivalent AR-HUD covers three lanes and shows turn arrows, speed-limit information and navigation-on-autopilot status directly on the road ahead. Volkswagen Anhui says the digital features were developed for Chinese buyers together with Xpeng, in line with the company's in-China-for-China strategy. The pre-sale material does not mention an over-the-air update schedule, so this article does not claim one.
Safety & ADAS
The driver-assistance system is built around Xpeng's single Turing chip with 750 TOPS of compute and an end-to-end VLA large model that relies on cameras rather than LiDAR. It has 26 external sensors (11 cameras, 3 millimetre-wave radars and 12 ultrasonic sensors) plus an in-cabin driver-monitoring camera. Features listed by Volkswagen Anhui include highway and urban navigation on autopilot, a parking-spot-to-parking-spot function that remembers up to 10 routes of about 100 km each, automatic parking in marked and unmarked spaces, cross-floor memory parking, remote parking and a 100 m trail-reversing function. Chinese press coverage describes the package as enhanced L2 assisted driving, and Volkswagen does not claim a higher automation level, so it should be read as a driver-assistance system rather than self-driving. The company says the car completed two winters and two summers of extreme-condition testing and, according to Gasgoo, more than 1.1 million km of durability validation.
| ADAS LEVEL | L2 assisted driving (Volkswagen: enhanced L2) with highway and urban NOA |
|---|---|
| ADAS FEATURES | VLA end-to-end model, 750 TOPS chip, 11 cameras, 3 radars, 12 ultrasonic sensors, driver-monitoring camera, memory parking, remote parking, trail reverse |

Available Versions
| VERSION | POWER | TORQUE | 0-100 | TOP SPEED | DRIVETRAIN | BATTERY | EV RANGE | COMBINED RANGE | PRICE | KEY DIFFERENCES |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ID. UNYX 09 single motor | 308 hp | — | — | 200 km/h | RWD | 91.963 kWh | 755 km | — | RMB 199,900 ($29,814) | 230 kW rear motor, 2,207 kg; pre-sale price, entry of the range |
| ID. UNYX 09 dual motor | 496 hp | — | — | 200 km/h | AWD | 91.963 kWh | 705 km | — | RMB 249,900 ($37,272) | 140 kW front plus 230 kW rear motor (370 kW combined), 2,307 kg; top of the pre-sale range |
Pricing & Availability
Pre-sale prices announced on 24 September 2026 run from RMB 199,900 ($29,814) to RMB 249,900 ($37,272) at the ECB rate of 6.7048 yuan per dollar; CarNewsChina and CnEVPost print slightly different dollar figures because they use their own rates. The two prices belong to the single-motor RWD and the dual-motor AWD versions, and the pre-sale material does not list the intermediate trims or what each includes. Buyers who pay an RMB 1,000 ($149) intention deposit receive RMB 3,000 ($447) off the final payment, an RMB 1,000 ($149) delivery gift package and priority delivery. The official market launch is planned for the end of October 2026, and the final prices could change at that point. For context, CnEVPost reports that the ID. UNYX 08 SUV, which was launched at RMB 229,900 ($34,289) in April 2026, was given an updated version in September 2026 with a limited-time starting price of RMB 189,900 ($28,323), so Volkswagen Anhui has been cutting entry prices on this range.
The ID. UNYX 09 is built at Volkswagen Anhui in Hefei, China, and it is for sale only in China. Neither Volkswagen nor the independent outlets read for this article mention an export plan, and the Chinese reports frame the model as part of Volkswagen's in-China-for-China strategy, so availability in Europe, Israel or North America is unconfirmed as of October 2026.
How It Compares
The ID. UNYX 09 competes in the Chinese electric-sedan segment against cars that are all priced within a few thousand dollars of its RMB 199,900 ($29,814) entry point. The Xiaomi SU7 is 4,997 mm long on a 3,000 mm wheelbase, which makes it 84 mm shorter and 30 mm shorter in wheelbase than the Volkswagen, and its Standard version costs RMB 219,900 ($32,797), RMB 20,000 ($2,983) more than the 09's pre-sale entry, for 315 hp and 720 km CLTC from a 73 kWh battery. The ZEEKR 007 is 4,858 mm long and starts at an official RMB 203,900 ($30,411) with a 370 kW (496 hp) single motor, so it matches the 09's AWD combined output in its rear-drive version while the 09's single-motor car offers 308 hp, and the 007's cheapest version is rated at 715 km CLTC against the 09's 755 km. The battery-electric XPENG P7+, the Volkswagen's technology cousin, is the cheapest here at RMB 186,800 ($27,861) to RMB 198,800 ($29,650) with 241 to 308 hp and up to 725 km CLTC. The Volkswagen's case rests on size, a 481-litre boot, a 92 kWh battery and a 10 to 80 percent charge in under 12 minutes, while its weak points are the unpublished torque and acceleration figures and a pre-sale price that is not yet final. Rival figures are Chinese launch prices and CLTC ranges from official launch data cross-checked against CnEVPost and CarNewsChina.
- Large for the money: 5,081 mm long with a 3,030 mm wheelbase, a 481 L boot and a pre-sale entry price of RMB 199,900 ($29,814)
- 91.963 kWh LFP battery with 755 km CLTC (RWD) and 5C charging that Volkswagen rates at 10 to 80 percent in under 12 minutes
- Strong technology package: 750 TOPS Turing chip, urban NOA, 85-inch-equivalent AR-HUD and a 20-speaker Dolby Atmos system
- Heavy at 2,207 kg (RWD) to 2,307 kg (AWD), and Volkswagen has not published torque or a 0-100 km/h time
- Pre-sale prices only: intermediate trims, equipment lists and final prices arrive at the end-of-October launch, and the car is sold only in China
The ID. UNYX 09 gives Volkswagen a credible rival to the Xiaomi SU7 and the ZEEKR 007 in China: a very long sedan with a big LFP battery, 5C charging and an Xpeng-built driver-assistance system, starting at about $29,800. The trade-offs are the missing torque and acceleration data, a weight above two tonnes and the fact that these are pre-sale prices for a car that is not yet on sale outside China. The single-motor car at RMB 199,900 ($29,814) looks like the sensible buy, since its 308 hp and 755 km CLTC rating cover most buyers, while the AWD at RMB 249,900 ($37,272) is worth it only for the extra 188 hp. We would wait for the final price list at the end of October before committing.


