The Nissan Qashqai e-POWER is a family crossover with an unusual drivetrain: the 1.5-litre turbo petrol engine never drives the wheels. It only generates electricity for the battery and the electric motor, and the motor alone turns the front wheels. This third-generation e-POWER system, introduced in Europe in 2025 on the UK-built Qashqai, lifts maximum output from 140 kW (190 PS) to 151 kW (205 PS, about 202 hp) and cuts the official WLTP figure to 4.5 L/100 km and 102 g/km of CO2. It is a self-charging hybrid, not a plug-in: there is no charging socket, and the 2.1 kWh battery is topped up only by the engine and by braking. Nissan's Israeli importer Freesbe launched the updated car on 10 June 2026 in three trims that Israeli launch coverage prices at NIS 194,990, NIS 199,990 and NIS 209,990, which is roughly $63,970 to $68,890 at the 6 October 2026 exchange rate. In Europe the Qashqai is also sold with a 1.3-litre mild-hybrid engine; this article covers only the e-POWER.
Performance & Specs
Nissan describes the third-generation e-POWER as a five-in-one unit that combines the electric motor, generator, inverter, reducer and a gear it calls the increaser in one compact module. Maximum power is 151 kW, which is 205 PS or about 202 hp (151 kW x 1.341); Nissan UK quotes 201 bhp, and Israeli coverage (CarTube, auto.co.il) lists 205 hp, which is really the metric PS figure. That is 11 kW more than the previous system. Nissan's European launch release adds that a Sport mode provides an extra 10 kW of boost for quicker response (the Sunderland production release says 11 kW), while Nissan UK's model page labels the 205 PS figure as the Sport-mode output, so the exact split between standard and Sport power is not spelled out in Nissan's materials. Torque and a 0-100 km/h time are not given in the launch release, and published acceleration times differ between sources, so none is quoted here.
The generator is an all-new 1.5-litre three-cylinder turbo petrol engine. Nissan says its STARC combustion concept reaches 42 percent thermal efficiency, and a larger turbocharger lets the engine turn about 200 rpm slower at motorway speeds, which is where a series hybrid usually loses its edge. The engine runs on 0W16 oil to reduce friction, and service intervals have been extended from 15,000 km to 20,000 km. Nissan claims up to 16 percent better real-world fuel economy and a 14 percent gain on the highway compared with the previous system, plus up to 5.6 dB less cabin noise. Because the engine only produces electricity, it can sit at its most efficient speed instead of following the driver's right foot.
Official consumption is 4.5 L/100 km on the WLTP cycle with 102 g/km of CO2, down from 116 g/km, a 12 percent cut. The Israeli launch coverage converts the same figure to 22.2 km per litre. With a 55-litre tank, Nissan quotes a potential range of more than 1,200 km. Nissan UK's current model page is slightly more optimistic than the launch release and lists up to 65.7 mpg (4.3 L/100 km) and up to 795 miles on a tank, a best-case number (62.8 mpg / 759 miles is the Tekna+ footnote; 65.7 mpg / 795 miles applies to other grades), so the 4.5 L/100 km headline is the safer reference.
The gains over the outgoing car are easy to list. The previous Qashqai e-POWER made 140 kW (190 PS), used 5.1 to 5.3 L/100 km on the WLTP cycle according to Australian coverage of the update, and emitted 116 g/km of CO2. The new car makes 151 kW, quotes 4.5 L/100 km and emits 102 g/km. Israeli launch coverage frames the same improvement as about 17 percent better economy, from 18.9 km per litre to 22.2 km per litre. It is worth separating this car from the 1.3-litre mild hybrid that Europe also sells: that engine is a conventional petrol with a small lithium mild-hybrid battery, listed by Nissan UK at 158 PS and up to 45.6 mpg (6.2 L/100 km), and it drives the wheels directly, while the e-POWER never does.
| Powertrain | Series hybrid (e-POWER): 1.5 L turbo three-cylinder generator, electric motor drives the front wheels |
|---|---|
| Power | 151 kW (205 PS / 202 hp); Sport mode adds up to 10 kW |
| Drivetrain | Front-wheel drive |
| Battery | 2.1 kWh, not plug-in |
| Fuel | 4.5 L/100 km WLTP, 102 g/km |
| Range | 1,200+ km on a 55 L tank |
| POWERTRAIN TYPE | Series hybrid (e-POWER), self-charging HEV, not a plug-in |
|---|---|
| ENGINE | 1.5 L turbo three-cylinder petrol, generator only |
| HORSEPOWER | 151 kW (205 PS / 202 hp); Sport mode adds up to 10 kW |
| TORQUE | Not stated in Nissan's launch release |
| ACCELERATION | Not stated by Nissan; media figures differ |
| DRIVETRAIN | Front-wheel drive, single electric motor |
| BATTERY | 2.1 kWh, no external charging |
| FUEL CONSUMPTION | 4.5 L/100 km WLTP, 102 g/km CO2 |
| COMBINED RANGE | More than 1,200 km (55 L tank) |
Dimensions & Practicality
| Length | 4,425 mm |
|---|---|
| Width | 1,835 mm (without mirrors) |
| Height | 1,625 mm |
| Wheelbase | 2,665 mm |
| Boot | Up to 504 L (UK spec sheets, seats up) |
The Qashqai stays a compact crossover. Nissan UK lists it at 4,425 mm long, 1,835 mm wide without mirrors and 1,625 mm tall, with a 2,665 mm wheelbase according to independent technical sheets, and every e-POWER Qashqai is a five-seater. Independent UK specification sheets list up to 504 litres for the e-POWER Qashqai with the rear seats up; Nissan's launch release and UK page do not repeat that figure, and Israeli launch coverage does not publish a boot volume. Boot volumes can differ slightly by market and wheel size, so check the figure for your own trim.
| LENGTH | 4,425 mm |
|---|---|
| WIDTH | 1,835 mm (without mirrors) |
| HEIGHT | 1,625 mm |
| WHEELBASE | 2,665 mm (independent technical sheets) |
| CARGO VOLUME | Up to 504 L seats up (UK spec sheets) |
| FUEL TANK | 55 L |
Charging & Battery
There is nothing to plug in. The Qashqai e-POWER is a series hybrid in the HEV class: the 1.5-litre turbo engine runs the generator, the generator feeds the 2.1 kWh battery and the electric motor, and braking energy flows back into the same battery. Nissan kept the battery capacity unchanged from the previous generation and put the gains into the engine, the inverter and the five-in-one unit. In day-to-day use the battery is a buffer, so the car drives like an electric one, with immediate response and no gear changes, while the engine hums at a steady speed in the background. Do not expect plug-in behaviour: there is no electric-only range figure, no AC or DC charging and no home wallbox, which keeps the car easy to live with for owners without charging at home.
| BATTERY | 2.1 kWh (capacity unchanged from the previous generation) |
|---|---|
| AC CHARGING | None (not a plug-in) |
| DC FAST CHARGING | None |
| REFUELLING | 55 L petrol tank, 1,200+ km potential range |
Design & Interior
The Qashqai wears the restyled look that Nissan introduced with the refreshed Qashqai: a broad mesh grille, slim horizontal light signatures and a floating-roof profile, all visible in most of Nissan's press images. The e-POWER update changes the powertrain, not the body, so the exterior looks the same as other Qashqai variants. In Israel the entry Acenta Shade rides on 18-inch wheels, while the top Tekna Eco moves to 19-inch wheels and adds adaptive LED headlights and a power tailgate with gesture opening. Inside, every Israeli trim has a 12.3-inch digital instrument cluster, a 12.3-inch central screen, a smart key, dual-zone climate control, ambient lighting and a wireless phone charger. The Acenta Tech adds built-in navigation and a sunroof, and the Tekna Eco adds a power driver's seat, synthetic leather and a head-up display. Metallic paint costs NIS 2,490 extra, except for the concrete grey colour.
Technology & Features
Nissan's Israeli launch spec is generous at the bottom of the range: even the NIS 194,990 Acenta Shade has both 12.3-inch screens, parking sensors, light and rain sensors and a 360-degree camera. In Europe Nissan lists Google built-in from the N-Connecta grade, and its launch release mentions an enhanced ProPILOT assistance system, but Freesbe's launch coverage does not say whether the Israeli cars use Google built-in, so that should be confirmed with a dealer. Service intervals of 20,000 km (about 12,000 miles in the UK) are a small running-cost gain that comes with the new engine.
Safety & ADAS
Nissan Israel describes the Qashqai e-POWER as equipped with advanced active safety systems on every trim, including the 360-degree camera and parking sensors, and the European specification adds the enhanced ProPILOT assistance mentioned in the launch release. Nissan UK lists the Around View Monitor, intelligent emergency braking and rear cross-traffic alert as standard features. The updated powertrain did not change the body structure, and the fully detailed list of driver-assistance functions varies by market, so buyers should check the equipment sheet for their own trim.
| ADAS LEVEL | Level 2 driver assistance (ProPILOT, market and grade dependent) |
|---|---|
| ADAS FEATURES | 360° camera / Around View Monitor, parking sensors, intelligent emergency braking, rear cross-traffic alert (UK list); Israeli trims list advanced active safety systems |
Available Versions
The power, battery and range columns repeat Nissan Europe's launch figures (151 kW / 202 hp, 2.1 kWh, 4.5 L/100 km WLTP and more than 1,200 km). They are not published per Israeli grade, so treat them as indicative for the Israeli cars.
| VERSION | POWER | DRIVETRAIN | BATTERY | COMBINED RANGE | PRICE | KEY DIFFERENCES |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Acenta Shade (Israel) | 202 hp | FWD | 2.1 kWh | 1,200 km | NIS 194,990 | 18-inch wheels, two 12.3-inch screens, 360-degree camera, wireless phone charging; launch offer was NIS 189,990 for three months |
| Acenta Tech (Israel) | 202 hp | FWD | 2.1 kWh | 1,200 km | NIS 199,990 | Adds built-in navigation and a sunroof |
| Tekna Eco (Israel) | 202 hp | FWD | 2.1 kWh | 1,200 km | NIS 209,990 | Adds power driver's seat, synthetic leather, head-up display, 19-inch wheels, power tailgate, adaptive headlights |
Pricing & Availability
In Israel, Freesbe (Nissan's importer in Israel) began selling the updated Qashqai e-POWER on 10 June 2026. Per Israeli launch coverage of Freesbe's 10 June 2026 price list (queenoftheroad.co.il and cartube.co.il), prices are NIS 194,990 for the Acenta Shade, NIS 199,990 for the Acenta Tech and NIS 209,990 for the Tekna Eco. At the European Central Bank rate published on 6 October 2026 (1 NIS = 0.32808 USD) these equal about $63,970, $65,610 and $68,890. Per the same coverage, a launch price of NIS 189,990 applied to the base trim for the first three months, which would have ended around 10 September; NIS 194,990 is the reported price for the base trim, but auto.co.il shows NIS 194,990 on both its Acenta Shade and Acenta Tech pages, so the NIS 199,990 price for the Acenta Tech rests on news coverage alone. Check with a dealer for current prices and promotions. In the UK, where the car is built in Sunderland, Nissan UK's website showed on 7 October 2026 on-the-road e-POWER prices from £33,615 for the N-Connecta, £35,535 for the N-Design and the Tekna, and £41,135 for the Tekna+; the Acenta Premium is now listed only as a mild hybrid, from £31,145. At the UK launch on 28 August 2025 Nissan had announced e-POWER prices from £34,860 for the Acenta Premium up to £43,210 for the Tekna+, so UK prices have changed since. The same system went on sale in Europe from September 2025, and Nissan has also confirmed it for the Rogue in North America and the Elgrand minivan in Japan.
How It Compares
The closest relative is the 2027 Nissan Rogue Hybrid, which uses the same series-hybrid idea in a larger body. Its US version has 225 hp, standard all-wheel drive and a US price from $37,065 (SV AWD trim: $35,490 plus $1,575 destination), but it is not on sale until early 2027. Nissan estimates 38 mpg combined on the US cycle (the EPA rating is not final), which cannot be converted directly to the Qashqai's WLTP figure. The KGM Torres Hybrid from Korea is a conventional parallel hybrid with 201 hp, about 6.1 L/100 km WLTP in Europe and a reported price of about $24,100 at home (about 32.5 million won), and it shows what a mainstream hybrid SUV costs in markets without Israel's price structure. These cars are compared as references only: they are sold in different markets, on different test cycles, and the Qashqai's NIS 194,990 starting price reflects Israeli retail conditions. Within its own class, the Qashqai's strongest argument is the low 4.5 L/100 km WLTP number with no plug required.
- Official 4.5 L/100 km (WLTP), 102 g/km and a potential range of more than 1,200 km from one tank, with no plug needed
- 151 kW (205 PS / 202 hp) electric drive with direct, EV-like response and up to 5.6 dB less cabin noise than the previous generation
- Well-equipped base trim in Israel: two 12.3-inch screens, 360-degree camera, parking sensors and wireless phone charging for NIS 194,990
- Front-wheel drive only and a tiny 2.1 kWh battery, so no electric-only driving and no all-wheel-drive option like the Rogue Hybrid
- Nissan does not publish torque or acceleration figures in its launch material, and its UK page and European release quote different best-case consumption numbers
The Qashqai e-POWER is a smart choice for drivers who want electric-style driving and low fuel use without charging anything. The new 151 kW system, 4.5 L/100 km WLTP and 1,200+ km potential range are strong numbers for a compact crossover, and the Israeli base trim is generously equipped. The trade-offs are front-wheel drive, a small battery and an Israeli price of NIS 194,990 to NIS 209,990 that is hard to justify without checking local rivals. If you do mostly mixed and motorway driving and cannot charge at home, it deserves a test drive.

